Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian

Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian
Series: Ash Princess Trilogy #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 448 pages
Published on 14th June 2018 by Macmillan Children’s Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Laura Sebastian: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy recieved for review via NetGalley

Synopsis:
The queen you were meant to be.
The land you were meant to save.

The throne you were meant to claim.

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. Ten years later, Theo has learned to survive under the relentless abuse of the Kaiser and his court as the ridiculed Ash Princess.

When the Kaiser forces her to execute her last hope of rescue, Theo can’t ignore her feelings and memories any longer. She vows revenge, throwing herself into a plot to seduce and murder the Kaiser’s warrior son with the help of a group of magically gifted and volatile rebels. But Theo doesn’t expect to develop feelings for the Prinz.Forced to make impossible choices and unable to trust even those who are on her side, Theo will have to decide how far she’s willing to go to save her people and how much of herself she’s willing to sacrifice to become Queen.

From author Laura Sebastian comes Ash Princess, a nail-biting YA fantasy debut full of daring and vengeance.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn

No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn and illustrated by Jorge Corona
Genre: Graphic Novel | LGBT | Contemporary
Length: 184 pages
Published on 12th June 2018 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Jacob Semahn: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Jorge Corona: Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Edelweiss

Synopsis:
Her social media, strong. Her variety show segments, a hit. Nash Huang is at the top of her game. But when the iRis Shutter contact lens hits the market, Nash’s life is personally invaded. The latest leap forward in “technological progress,” these contacts not only play video or augment reality… but also record with the blink of an eye. Fighting to keep her life together after a leaked sex tape goes viral, a clingy super fan is the last thing on Nash’s mind… but that’s exactly when the bodies pile up and the terror begins.
Collects issues 1 through 6.

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick
Series: Blade Runner #1
Science Fiction | Adult
Length: 193 pages
Published in 2017 by Gollancz
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Philip K. Dick: Goodreads
Recieved for review from Publisher

Synopsis:
World War Terminus Had left the Earth devastated. Through its ruins, bounty hunter Rick Deckard stalked, in search of the renegade replicants who were his prey. When he wasn’t ‘retiring’ them with his laser weapon, he dreamed of owning a live animal – the ultimate status symbol in a world all but bereft of animal life. Then Rick got his chance: the assignment to kill Nexus-6 targets, for a huge reward. But in Deckard’s world things were never that simple, and his assignment quickly turned into a nightmare kaleidoscope of subterfuge and deceit – and the threat of death for the hunter rather than the hunted…

Continue reading “Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland

Everless by Sara Holland
Series: Everless #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 361 pages
Published on 4th January 2018 by Orchard Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Sara Holland: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley, ARC from YALC, physical copy bought via FairyLoot

Synopsis:
Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire – a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.
In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything – even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family.There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever … and possibly the future of time itself.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland”

Book Events, Book Reviews, Received for Review, TEENSgate

Review: Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli

Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli
Series: Creekwood
Genre: LGBT | Contemporary | Young Adult
Length: 352 pages
Published on 30th January 2018 by Penguin
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Becky Albertalli: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via TEENSgate Blogger Event.

Synopsis:
Straight people should have to come out too. And the more awkward it is, the better.
Simon Spier is sixteen and trying to work out who he is – and what he’s looking for.

But when one of his emails to the very distracting Blue falls into the wrong hands, things get all kinds of complicated.Because, for Simon, falling for Blue is a big deal . . .

It’s a holy freaking huge awesome deal.

Continue reading “Review: Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Poetry Review: DROPKICKromance by Cyrus Parker

DROPKICKromance by Cyrus Parker
Genre: Poetry | Nonfiction
Length: 176 pages
Published on 6th March 2018 by Andrews McMeel Publishing
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Cyrus Parker: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eARC received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
A collection of autobiographical poetry about healing and learning to love again from professional-wrestler-turned-poet, Cyrus Parker.
The first half of DROPKICKromance focuses on a toxic, long-distance relationship the author was involved in for several years, while the second half focuses on his current relationship with poet Amanda Lovelace. Ultimately, the collection tells about a profound journey of healing.

Continue reading “ARC Poetry Review: DROPKICKromance by Cyrus Parker”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: The Little Red Wolf by Amélie Fléchais

The Little Red Wolf by Amélie Fléchais
Series: N/A
Genre: Graphic Novel | Fantasy
Length: 80 pages
Published on 3rd October 2017 by Diamond Book Distributors
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Waterstones | WHSmith
Amélie Fléchais: Website | Goodreads
Digital review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
Lose yourself in in the dark forests of Amelie Flechais’ spectacular artwork. A young wolf, on a journey to bring his grandmother a rabbit, is charmed by the nice little girl who offers to help him… but nice is not the same as good. A haunting fairy tale for children and adults alike.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: The Little Red Wolf by Amélie Fléchais”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Carnivore by Jonathan Lyon

Carnivore by Jonathan Lyon
Series: N/A
Genre: Thriller | Mystery
Length: 400 pages
Published on 2nd November 2017 by HQ
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Jonathan Lyon: Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads
Copies received via Harper Insider #proofparty and NetGalley (oops).

Synopsis:
‘So you liked Irvine Welsh? Read Carnivore’ Cosmopolitan
Meet Leander: lover, fighter, liar.He learnt a long time ago that nothing is as intoxicating as blood. But whether it’s his or someone else’s doesn’t matter any more. There’s a mysterious pain in every muscle of his body – and it’s got so bad that he’ll do anything to escape it.

Up to now, it’s been his secret. But it’s hard to remain invisible when you leave a trail of destruction everywhere you go. So, when he comes to the attention of one of London’s most infamous criminals, Leander decides to put his appetite for violence to the ultimate test.

Let the villain win.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Carnivore by Jonathan Lyon”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Taproot by Keezy Young

Taproot by Keezy Young
Series: Standalone?
Genre: Graphic Novel | Fantasy | LGBT
Length: 127 pages
Published on 26th September 2017 by Lion Forge
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Keezy Young: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Review copy received via NetGalley

Synopsis:
Blue is having a hard time moving on. He’s in love with his best friend. He’s also dead. Luckily, Hamal can see ghosts, leaving Blue free to haunt him to his heart’s content. But something eerie is happening in town, leaving the local afterlife unsettled, and when Blue realizes Hamal’s strange ability may be putting him in danger, Blue has to find a way to protect him, even if it means… leaving him.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Taproot by Keezy Young”