Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: The Castoffs, V.1: Mage Against the Machine by M.K. Reed

The Castoffs, V.1: Mage Against the Machine by M.K. Reed
Series: The Castoffs #1-4
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 119 pages
Published on 12th April 2017 by Lion Forge
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
M.K. Reed: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Brian Smith: Goodreads
Molly Ostertag: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Wyeth Yates: Goodreads
eCopy received from Diamond BookShelf newsletter

Synopsis:
It’s Mage against the Machine! Magic vs technology in Roar’s newest graphic novel. When three apprentice mages are sent to help a neighboring guild, they reignite a decades-old war with a robot army that has destroyed the world.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: The Castoffs, V.1: Mage Against the Machine by M.K. Reed”

Advertisements
Book Reviews

Review: The Surface Breaks by Louise O’Neill

The Surface Breaks by Louise O’Neill
Series: Genre: Fantasy | Retellingt | Young Adult
Length: 320 pages
Published on 3rd May 2018 by Scholastic
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Louise O’Neill: Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis:
Deep beneath the sea, off the cold Irish coast, Gaia is a young mermaid who dreams of freedom from her controlling father. On her first swim to the surface, she is drawn towards a human boy. She longs to join his carefree world, but how much will she have to sacrifice? What will it take for the little mermaid to find her voice? Hans Christian Andersen’s original fairy tale is reimagined through a searing feminist lens, with the stunning, scalpel-sharp writing and world building that has won Louise her legions of devoted fans. A book with the darkest of undercurrents, full of rage and rallying cries: storytelling at its most spellbinding.

Continue reading “Review: The Surface Breaks by Louise O’Neill”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC review: Grace & Fury by Tracy Banghart

Grace & Fury by Tracy Banghart
Series: Grace and Fury #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 320 pages
Published on 26th July 2018 by Hodder Children’s Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Tracy Banghart: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
ARC sent to me via the publishers (ty Louise and Katherine)

Synopsis: Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other on an island prison where women must fight to survive.

Serina has spent her whole life preparing to become a Grace – selected to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining example of the perfect woman.

But her headstrong and rebellious younger sister has a dangerous secret, and one wrong move could cost both sisters everything.

Can Serina fight? And will Nomi win?

Continue reading “ARC review: Grace & Fury by Tracy Banghart”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club

Poetry Review: Blood and Flowers by K Carrion

Blood and Flowers by K. Carrion
Genre: Poetry
Length: 66 pages
Published on 28th December 2016 by K Carrion
Purchase: Amazon
K. Carrion: Website | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Amazon

Synopsis:
“A simple collection of poetry. Very vivid, yet dour. Emotional and powerful. Every ounce of one’s soul poured out into words.”

Continue reading “Poetry Review: Blood and Flowers by K Carrion”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian

Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian
Series: Ash Princess Trilogy #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 448 pages
Published on 14th June 2018 by Macmillan Children’s Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Laura Sebastian: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy recieved for review via NetGalley

Synopsis:
The queen you were meant to be.
The land you were meant to save.

The throne you were meant to claim.

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. Ten years later, Theo has learned to survive under the relentless abuse of the Kaiser and his court as the ridiculed Ash Princess.

When the Kaiser forces her to execute her last hope of rescue, Theo can’t ignore her feelings and memories any longer. She vows revenge, throwing herself into a plot to seduce and murder the Kaiser’s warrior son with the help of a group of magically gifted and volatile rebels. But Theo doesn’t expect to develop feelings for the Prinz.Forced to make impossible choices and unable to trust even those who are on her side, Theo will have to decide how far she’s willing to go to save her people and how much of herself she’s willing to sacrifice to become Queen.

From author Laura Sebastian comes Ash Princess, a nail-biting YA fantasy debut full of daring and vengeance.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn

No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn and illustrated by Jorge Corona
Genre: Graphic Novel | LGBT | Contemporary
Length: 184 pages
Published on 12th June 2018 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Jacob Semahn: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Jorge Corona: Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Edelweiss

Synopsis:
Her social media, strong. Her variety show segments, a hit. Nash Huang is at the top of her game. But when the iRis Shutter contact lens hits the market, Nash’s life is personally invaded. The latest leap forward in “technological progress,” these contacts not only play video or augment reality… but also record with the blink of an eye. Fighting to keep her life together after a leaked sex tape goes viral, a clingy super fan is the last thing on Nash’s mind… but that’s exactly when the bodies pile up and the terror begins.
Collects issues 1 through 6.

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick
Series: Blade Runner #1
Science Fiction | Adult
Length: 193 pages
Published in 2017 by Gollancz
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Philip K. Dick: Goodreads
Recieved for review from Publisher

Synopsis:
World War Terminus Had left the Earth devastated. Through its ruins, bounty hunter Rick Deckard stalked, in search of the renegade replicants who were his prey. When he wasn’t ‘retiring’ them with his laser weapon, he dreamed of owning a live animal – the ultimate status symbol in a world all but bereft of animal life. Then Rick got his chance: the assignment to kill Nexus-6 targets, for a huge reward. But in Deckard’s world things were never that simple, and his assignment quickly turned into a nightmare kaleidoscope of subterfuge and deceit – and the threat of death for the hunter rather than the hunted…

Continue reading “Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland

Everless by Sara Holland
Series: Everless #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 361 pages
Published on 4th January 2018 by Orchard Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Sara Holland: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley, ARC from YALC, physical copy bought via FairyLoot

Synopsis:
Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire – a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.
In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything – even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family.There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever … and possibly the future of time itself.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland”

Book Events, Book Reviews, Received for Review, TEENSgate

Review: Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli

Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli
Series: Creekwood
Genre: LGBT | Contemporary | Young Adult
Length: 352 pages
Published on 30th January 2018 by Penguin
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Becky Albertalli: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via TEENSgate Blogger Event.

Synopsis:
Straight people should have to come out too. And the more awkward it is, the better.
Simon Spier is sixteen and trying to work out who he is – and what he’s looking for.

But when one of his emails to the very distracting Blue falls into the wrong hands, things get all kinds of complicated.Because, for Simon, falling for Blue is a big deal . . .

It’s a holy freaking huge awesome deal.

Continue reading “Review: Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli”