Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Poetry Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace

The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace
Series: Women are Some Kind of Magic #2
Genre: Poetry | Feminism
Length: 208 pages
Published on 6th March 2018 by Andrews McMeel Poetry
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Amanda Lovelace: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
2016 Goodreads Choice Award-winning poet Amanda Lovelace returns in the witch doesn’t burn in this one — the bold second book in her “women are some kind of magic” series.

The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now—indestructible. These moving, relatable poems encourage resilience and embolden women to take control of their own stories. Enemies try to judge, oppress, and marginalize her, but the witch doesn’t burn in this one.

Continue reading “ARC Poetry Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace”

Advertisements
Haul Posts

Rewind: Haul Post (4)

rewind

So for those of you who don’t know prior to this blog I used to blog under the same name on blogger (it now redirects here so, sorry, but you can’t check it out) from 2011.

I thought it would be interesting to go back and view my first ever haul posts to see what books I got and whether or not I ever read them.

Previous haul rewinds: one | two | three

Continue reading “Rewind: Haul Post (4)”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick
Series: Blade Runner #1
Science Fiction | Adult
Length: 193 pages
Published in 2017 by Gollancz
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Philip K. Dick: Goodreads
Recieved for review from Publisher

Synopsis:
World War Terminus Had left the Earth devastated. Through its ruins, bounty hunter Rick Deckard stalked, in search of the renegade replicants who were his prey. When he wasn’t ‘retiring’ them with his laser weapon, he dreamed of owning a live animal – the ultimate status symbol in a world all but bereft of animal life. Then Rick got his chance: the assignment to kill Nexus-6 targets, for a huge reward. But in Deckard’s world things were never that simple, and his assignment quickly turned into a nightmare kaleidoscope of subterfuge and deceit – and the threat of death for the hunter rather than the hunted…

Continue reading “Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick”

Discussion

YALC | My potential TBR

yalc tbr.jpg

I put a poll up on twitter regarding what post y’all wanted to see first and this won.

As you can see I titled it “potential TBR” and I say this due to the fact I’ve thrown together all the books I own that I could take to be signed but I’m not 100% sold on some of them as they may not be my cuppa tea. Those I’m not completely sure on I’ll only take if I have the bag room, I don’t wanna do what I did last year and completely ruin my back.

Continue reading “YALC | My potential TBR”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Challenges, State of the ARC

State of the ARC | In which I break down

State-of-the-ARC
State of the ARC |
In which I drown in ARCs

Every month I see Ava’s posts go live and every month I’m like y’know what I can do this. I can track my progress and feel happy. But every month I don’t. Untill now.

I am finally here to see how bad things are.
Continue reading “State of the ARC | In which I break down”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland

Everless by Sara Holland
Series: Everless #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 361 pages
Published on 4th January 2018 by Orchard Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Sara Holland: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley, ARC from YALC, physical copy bought via FairyLoot

Synopsis:
Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire – a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.
In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything – even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family.There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever … and possibly the future of time itself.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland”

Books and Tea Book Club

Books and Tea Book Club | May Read-along

batthing

Books and Tea Book Club | May Read-along
Back at it again with the update on next months read-along? You bet I am. If you want a full run down on what my Book Club has to offer please visit this post. Yes, I finally created a new one!

It took till mid April for me to realise I never made the blog announcement of this months read-along book and I’m very sorry for that. Travelling and having family members in the hospital made blogging not a priority.

News aside though, keep reading for an update on Aprils and what we will be reading throughout May.
Continue reading “Books and Tea Book Club | May Read-along”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks

Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks and illustrated by Gabo
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 112 pages
Published on 17th April 2018 by Oni Press
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Kyle Starks: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Gabo: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley

Synopsis:
Air Bud meets The Walking Dead!
From the tabletop smash hit comes this new comic series starring your favorite characters from Plaid Hat Games’ DEAD OF WINTER, written by Kyle Starks (the Eisner Award-nominated Sexcastle), and illustrated by Gabo (The Life After).

In the pantheon of superheroes, none are more loveable and loyal than everyone’s favorite good ol’ dog, Sparky. Surviving in the wintery apocalypse of the undead, this former TV show stunt dog turned zombie killing machine just wants to make friends and be a good boy. As his fellow survivors scavenge for supplies in the frigid wasteland, will Sparky be able to protect his companions from threats both undead and otherwise? Collects issues #1-4 from the “Good Good Dog” storyline from DEAD OF WINTER!

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks”

Book Events, Book Reviews, Received for Review, TEENSgate

Review: Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli

Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli
Series: Creekwood
Genre: LGBT | Contemporary | Young Adult
Length: 352 pages
Published on 30th January 2018 by Penguin
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Becky Albertalli: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via TEENSgate Blogger Event.

Synopsis:
Straight people should have to come out too. And the more awkward it is, the better.

Simon Spier is sixteen and trying to work out who he is – and what he’s looking for.

But when one of his emails to the very distracting Blue falls into the wrong hands, things get all kinds of complicated.Because, for Simon, falling for Blue is a big deal . . .

It’s a holy freaking huge awesome deal.

Continue reading “Review: Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli”