Discussion, Guest Post

5 Reasons Why Love in Books is Overrated | Clo from Book Dragons 24/7

overreated

5 Reasons Why Love in Books is Overrated | written by Clo from Book Dragons 24/7

As you may know I’m away for a long weekend as a birthday treat so I very kindly asked the #NewBloggers group if anyone would like to guest post whilst I was gone.

The lovely Clo stepped up with a few ideas she’d happily write and “5 reasons why love in books is overrated” was one that stood out to me as I was intrigued to hear her thoughts as its something I agree with.

Keep reading to find out her reasons why!

Continue reading “5 Reasons Why Love in Books is Overrated | Clo from Book Dragons 24/7”

Advertisements
Blogoween

Blogoween | Full Prompt List

Blogoween final png

If you want to find out more about Blogoween and be able to sign up be sure to check out the first post or stop by Clo at Bookish Dragons 24/7 blog.

Keep reading if you’d like to see what Prompts the #NewBloggers bunch have come up with to help you feel inspired. Remember you don’t have to use any or all of these prompts, they’re just here for inspiration to help you get through which ever level of Blogoween you signed up for.
Continue reading “Blogoween | Full Prompt List”

Challenges, Micro Review

Micro Review | Gettin’ Comfy (2)


Micro Review | Gettin’ Comfy

If you want to know more about Micro Reviews then stop by Allie @ Hexen Librarian’s blog where she explains it fully and shares the full prompt list.

Best thing is you can take part when you’re ready! So just like me, you can play catch up if you want or just hop in on the latest one.
Continue reading “Micro Review | Gettin’ Comfy (2)”

Book Reviews

ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand
Genre: Horror | Paranormal | Young Adult
Length: 464 pages
Published on 4th October 2018 by HarperCollins
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Claire Legrand: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
Fans of Victoria Schwab, Nova Ren Suma, and Netflix’s hit show Stranger Things will crave this frightening stand-alone contemporary teen horror novel about three girls who take on an insidious monster that preys upon young women.
Who are the Sawkill Girls? 

Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find. 

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand”

Video Game

Steam Wishlist Clean Up (12 )

steamwish
Since Steam summer sales are arriving soon, Tecsie decided to clean up their Steam wishlist a little bit by writing a Steam Wishlist Clean Up post which was inspired by Lia’s Down the TBR Hole book blogger meme.

I really liked this idea and asked Tecsie if I could take part too so here I am. Though with a slight difference, Tecsie managed to go through a lot more of her wishlist in one go. I already know that will not be the case for me. So you’ll likely see a few of these.

Sit back, enjoy, and browse some video games with me.
Continue reading “Steam Wishlist Clean Up (12 )”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Bitch Planet, Vol 1 & 2 by Kelly Sue DeConnick

Bitch Planet, Vol. 1: Extraordinary Machine and Vol. 2: President Bitch by Kelly Sue DeConnick
Series: Bitch Planet #1 and #2
Genre: Science Fiction | Graphic Novel | Feminism
Length: 156 pages | 144 pages
Published on 7th October 2015 + 6th June 2017 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Kelly Sue DeConnick: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis for Vol 1:
Eisner Award-nominated writer Kelly Sue DeConnick (Pretty Deadly, Captain Marvel) and Valentine De Landro (X-Factor) team up to bring you the premiere volume of Bitch Planet, a deliciously vicious riff on women-in-prison sci-fi exploitation.
In a future just a few years down the road in the wrong direction, a woman’s failure to comply with her patriarchal overlords will result in exile to the meanest penal planet in the galaxy. When the newest crop of fresh femmes arrive, can they work together to stay alive or will hidden agendas, crooked guards, and the deadliest sport on (or off!) Earth take them to their maker?Collects BITCH PLANET #1-5.Eisner Award-nominated writer Kelly Sue DeConnick (Pretty Deadly, Captain Marvel) and Valentine De Landro (X-Factor) team up to bring you the premiere volume of Bitch Planet, a deliciously vicious riff on women-in-prison sci-fi exploitation.In a future just a few years down the road in the wrong direction, a woman’s failure to comply with her patriarchal overlords will result in exile to the meanest penal planet in the galaxy. When the newest crop of fresh femmes arrive, can they work together to stay alive or will hidden agendas, crooked guards, and the deadliest sport on (or off!) Earth take them to their maker?

Collects BITCH PLANET #1-5.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Bitch Planet, Vol 1 & 2 by Kelly Sue DeConnick”

Blogoween

Blogoween | Announcement and Sign Up

Blogoween final png

Its not October yet, how dare I start talking about Halloween related things! But I am and you can’t stop me.

Keep reading if you’d like to find out what Blogoween is and how to take part with the lovely #NewBloggers bunch! Clo at Bookish Dragons 24/7 is the main host of this bookish blogoween but it was a group conversation that set this in motion – this is the type of stuff you’re missing out on if you’re not a member. Working ideas off one and other is so much fun.
Continue reading “Blogoween | Announcement and Sign Up”

Books and Tea Book Club, Meet the Members

Books and Tea: Meet the Members | Akselmo

books and tea meet hte membner
Books and Tea |
Meet the Members

I run an online book club called Books and Tea and I love it dearly. I mean obviously I do or I wouldn’t still be running it.

I also wouldn’t be able to run it without the members as their activity within the club and their love for it too keeps it active and running smoothly.

I’m big on supporting the members and showing my appreciation for them and what better way to do so than to have guest posts from them – and thats what this feature will be.

For now I’m posting one every two weeks and I’ve provided the members with 4 open questions to answer and then a space to talk about anything they’d like – something they’re a fan of, something they do outside of the book club, or something they’re passionate about.
Continue reading “Books and Tea: Meet the Members | Akselmo”

Cover Reveal

Cover Reveal: Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich

It has been a long time since I’ve taken part in a cover reveal when Jenn reached out asking if myself and some other bloggers would like to help reveal the cover for Dawn Kurtagich’s new book – Teeth in the Mist – I jumped at the chance.

I’ve read The Dead House by Dawn which I loved and recommend at work whenever possible so I’m super excited to pick this book up too!

Other books by her include: The Creeper Man (And the Trees Crept In if you’re in the US) and the Dead House companion novella: The Naida Tapes.
Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich”