Book Reviews, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: The Lost Path by Amélie Fléchais

The Lost Path by Amélie Fléchais
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 96 pages
Published on 28th March 2018 by Lion Forge Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Amélie Fléchais: Website | Goodreads
Digital review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
Three young boys set off from Camp Happiness, map in hand, determined to be the first to find the treasure before anyone else. But the shortcut they take leads to something far more spectacular and sinister! All manner of magical beasties live in these woods, and the kids find themselves caught between warring Forest Spirits. Will the three boys find their way out of trouble? Get your map and ready, set, go! Amélie Fléchais’s incredible artwork combines the best of French illustration with manga influences. A spooky new fairytale, for fans of Over the Garden Wall.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: The Lost Path by Amélie Fléchais”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Motor Crush, Vol 1 by Brenden Fletcher

Motor Crush, Vol. 1 by Brenden Fletcher and Cameron Stewart and illustrated by Babs Tarr
Series: Motor Crush #1
Genre: Science Fiction | Graphic Novel
Length: 136 pages
Published on 20th June 2017 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Brenden Fletcher: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Cameron Stewart: Twitter | Goodreads
Babs Tarr: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
The team behind the critically-acclaimed revamp of Batgirl returns with an exciting sci-fi action-adventure series!
By day, Domino Swift competes for fame & fortune in a worldwide motorcycle racing league. By night, she cracks heads of rival gangs in brutal bike wars to gain possession of a rare, valuable contraband: an engine-boosting “machine narcotic” known as Crush.
Collecting: Motor Crush 1-5

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Motor Crush, Vol 1 by Brenden Fletcher”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian

Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian
Series: Ash Princess Trilogy #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 448 pages
Published on 14th June 2018 by Macmillan Children’s Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Laura Sebastian: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy recieved for review via NetGalley

Synopsis:
The queen you were meant to be.
The land you were meant to save.

The throne you were meant to claim.

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. Ten years later, Theo has learned to survive under the relentless abuse of the Kaiser and his court as the ridiculed Ash Princess.

When the Kaiser forces her to execute her last hope of rescue, Theo can’t ignore her feelings and memories any longer. She vows revenge, throwing herself into a plot to seduce and murder the Kaiser’s warrior son with the help of a group of magically gifted and volatile rebels. But Theo doesn’t expect to develop feelings for the Prinz.Forced to make impossible choices and unable to trust even those who are on her side, Theo will have to decide how far she’s willing to go to save her people and how much of herself she’s willing to sacrifice to become Queen.

From author Laura Sebastian comes Ash Princess, a nail-biting YA fantasy debut full of daring and vengeance.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn

No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn and illustrated by Jorge Corona
Genre: Graphic Novel | LGBT | Contemporary
Length: 184 pages
Published on 12th June 2018 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Jacob Semahn: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Jorge Corona: Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Edelweiss

Synopsis:
Her social media, strong. Her variety show segments, a hit. Nash Huang is at the top of her game. But when the iRis Shutter contact lens hits the market, Nash’s life is personally invaded. The latest leap forward in “technological progress,” these contacts not only play video or augment reality… but also record with the blink of an eye. Fighting to keep her life together after a leaked sex tape goes viral, a clingy super fan is the last thing on Nash’s mind… but that’s exactly when the bodies pile up and the terror begins.
Collects issues 1 through 6.

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: Void Trip by Ryan O’Sullivan

Void Trip by Ryan O’Sullivan and illustrated by Plaid Klaus
Series: Void Trip #1-5
Genre: Science Fiction | Graphic Novel
Length: 144 pages
Published on 5th June 2018 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Ryan O’Sullivan: Twitter | Goodreads
Plaid Klaus: Twitter | Goodreads
Digital Review Copy received from Edelweiss for review

Synopsis:
From writer RYAN O’SULLIVAN (Turncoat, The Evil Within, Warhammer 40,000) and illustrator PLAID KLAUS (Turncoat) comes the story of Ana and Gabe, the last two humans left alive in the galaxy. They’re low on fuel, they’re low on food, and they’re low on psychedelic space froot, but they’re still determined to make it to the promised land: hippy-paradise super-planet Euphoria. This is the story of their journey, the friends and enemies they made along the way, and how the universe responded to those who dared to live freely within it.
Collects issues 1 through 5.

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: Void Trip by Ryan O’Sullivan”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Review: Silver & Bone by Claudia Cain

Silver & Bone by Claudia Cain
Series: Silver and Bone #1
Genre: Fantasy | Paranormal | Vampires
Length: 486 pages
Published on 31st October 2016 by Claudia Cain
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Claudia Cain: Website | Instagram | Goodreads
eCopy recieved for review from the author

Synopsis:
Jennifer Jones is trying to be a better person.
It’s not easy. She has a lot to make up for, considering that she’s an immortal blood-sucker with a history of serial killing. But at least she probably can’t get worse.And for the last seventy years, things have been going well. She’s got a job, friends she cares about, a steady relationship, and she hasn’t killed a single human.

But something dark is on the horizon. A body appears in an alley, bringing up unsettling memories. A Necromancer warns of an approaching menace, and as more and more bodies begin to appear, repeating a very familiar pattern, Jennifer finds herself being framed for murder.

Someone is out for revenge, and they’re willing to kill to get it.

You might be able to ignore your past, but you can’t outrun it, and Jennifer’s has just caught up to her.

Continue reading “Review: Silver & Bone by Claudia Cain”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Poetry Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace

The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace
Series: Women are Some Kind of Magic #2
Genre: Poetry | Feminism
Length: 208 pages
Published on 6th March 2018 by Andrews McMeel Poetry
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Amanda Lovelace: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
2016 Goodreads Choice Award-winning poet Amanda Lovelace returns in the witch doesn’t burn in this one — the bold second book in her “women are some kind of magic” series.

The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now—indestructible. These moving, relatable poems encourage resilience and embolden women to take control of their own stories. Enemies try to judge, oppress, and marginalize her, but the witch doesn’t burn in this one.

Continue reading “ARC Poetry Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick
Series: Blade Runner #1
Science Fiction | Adult
Length: 193 pages
Published in 2017 by Gollancz
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Philip K. Dick: Goodreads
Recieved for review from Publisher

Synopsis:
World War Terminus Had left the Earth devastated. Through its ruins, bounty hunter Rick Deckard stalked, in search of the renegade replicants who were his prey. When he wasn’t ‘retiring’ them with his laser weapon, he dreamed of owning a live animal – the ultimate status symbol in a world all but bereft of animal life. Then Rick got his chance: the assignment to kill Nexus-6 targets, for a huge reward. But in Deckard’s world things were never that simple, and his assignment quickly turned into a nightmare kaleidoscope of subterfuge and deceit – and the threat of death for the hunter rather than the hunted…

Continue reading “Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland

Everless by Sara Holland
Series: Everless #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 361 pages
Published on 4th January 2018 by Orchard Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Sara Holland: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley, ARC from YALC, physical copy bought via FairyLoot

Synopsis:
Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire – a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.
In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything – even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family.There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever … and possibly the future of time itself.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland”