Book Reviews, Received for Review

Poetry Review: Where I Ache by Megan O’Keeffe

Where I Ache by Megan O’Keeffe
Genre: Nonfiction | Poetry
Length: 157 pages
Published on 10th June 2019 by Author
Purchase*: Amazon
*these are affiliate links
Megan O’Keeffe: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Received for free from the author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:
Where I Ache is broken up into six chapters ranging from themes such as depression, jealousy, death, and strength. These are delicate subjects to talk about and most people avoid them because of the uncomfortable vulnerability. I’ve always written and shared my poetry with the hope that readers would relate and feel less alone. I hope you feel a sense of community to all of those connected throughout this collection.

Continue reading “Poetry Review: Where I Ache by Megan O’Keeffe”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Discussion, Guest Post

Spotlight on: Never Contented Things | Written by Gail

Never Contended Things SpotlightHappy pride! I hope y’all are having a nice pride month so far! Today is also the last day of my semester, so shit’s been crazy. That said, I’ve read a lot of queer books recently. Recently, as in over the past couple of months, or as in over the past year, either works. I made a post summarizing my recs for this month on tumblr, and you can view it here. In whatever posts I manage to write this month, I want to spotlight a couple of LGBTQA+ books that I love and simply aren’t getting the love they deserve. This one is a bizarre book, a contemporary-ish fantasy horror about three dysfunctional people whose main obstacle isn’t the world around them, it isn’t even the horror elements, but their own dysfunction.
Continue reading “Spotlight on: Never Contented Things | Written by Gail”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Webcomic Review: The Sea in You by Jessi Sheron

The Sea in You by Jessi Sheron
Genre: Fantasy | Mermaids
Length: 70 pages (ongoing)
Read: Tapas
Jessi Sheron: Website | Twitter | Tapas
Its free to read on Tapas!

Synopsis:
Corinth was just trying to clean up the beach, she never expected to meet a mermaid, let alone be nearly drowned by one.

It was the start of a very strange friendship.

Continue reading “Webcomic Review: The Sea in You by Jessi Sheron”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Review: The Infinite Noise ARC | Written by Gail

The Infinite Noise by Lauren Shippen Series: The Bright Sessions #1 Genre: LGBT | Young Adult Length: 336 pages Published on 24th September 2019 by Tor Teen Purchase*: Amazon | Wordery *these are affiliate links Lauren Shippen: Website | Twitter | Goodreads Received for free from the author in exchange for an honest review
Synopsis: From Lauren Shippen, the creator of the beloved and award-winning podcast The Bright Sessions, comes the first novel in a series that follows the struggles and discoveries of three teenagers with supernatural abilites who end up on the couch of Dr. Bright, a mysterious therapist who specializes in atypicals. “What if the X-Men, instead of becoming superheroes, decided to spend some time in therapy?”

I was lucky enough to be selected to get an ARC of The Infinite Noise by Lauren Shippen (my first ever ARC!). I had finished reading it only a day later, and I am glad to say, upfront, before we get into the nitty gritty details, that I really, truly enjoyed it.

Continue reading “Review: The Infinite Noise ARC | Written by Gail”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb

Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb
Series: Lucid #1
Genre: Paranormal | Romance | Young Adult
Length: 272 pages
Published on 23rd April 2019 by Lakewater Press
Purchase*: Amazon | Wordery | Blackwells
*these are affiliate links
Kristy Fairlamb: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Received for free from the author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis: A Terrifying Power. A Horrifying Curse.

Lucy Piper lives a lonely existence on the precipice between life and death. She possesses the horrifying ability to resurrect real-life tragic events in her nightmares, reliving over and over, as if she were there, the last few moments before the victim takes their final breath. Car accidents, drownings, plane crashes – Lucy has seen it all. No one understands what it’s like living death by night and fearing sleep by day.

When Tyler Sims and his family move to town to escape past traumas, Lucy is drawn to him. The two of them are linked through their dreams, and with Tyler’s trust and friendship, hope for a brighter future returns to Lucy’s world. But Tyler’s presence awakens something else in Lucy, and with this new knowledge she will be forced to make impossible decisions. Decisions that will change history, and the future.

Chilling, haunting and compelling, this novel is the first in a two-part series for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Hidden Memory of Objects that will leave you breathless for days.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb”