Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Project Semicolon by Amy Bleuel

Project Semicolon by Amy Bleuel
Genre: Nonfiction | Short Stories
Length: 352 pages
Published on 5th September 2017 by HarperCollins
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Amy Bleuel: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Copy requested via @Harper360UK on twitter.

Synopsis:
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If You Feel Too Much, this collection from suicide-awareness organization Project Semicolon features stories and photos from those struggling with mental illness.
Project Semicolon began in 2013 to spread a message of hope: No one struggling with a mental illness is alone; you, too, can survive and live a life filled with joy and love. In support of the project and its message, thousands of people all over the world have gotten semicolon tattoos and shared photos of them, often alongside stories of hardship, growth, and rebirth.Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn’t Over reveals dozens of new portraits and stories from people of all ages talking about what they have endured and what they want for their futures. This represents a new step in the movement and a new awareness around those who struggle with mental illness and those who support them. At once heartfelt, unflinchingly honest, and eternally hopeful, this collection tells a story of choice: every day you choose to live and let your story continue on.Learn more about the project at http://www.projectsemicolon.com.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Project Semicolon by Amy Bleuel”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Undercover Princess by Connie Glynn

Undercover Princess by Connie Glynn
Series: The Rosewood Chronicles #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 288 pages
Published on 2nd November 2017 by Penguin
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Connie Glynn: Twitter | Goodreads
ARC received from publisher at YALC

Synopsis:
When fairy tale obsessed Lottie Pumpkin starts at the infamous Rosewood Hall, she is not expecting to share a room with the Crown Princess of Maradova, Ellie Wolf. Due to a series of lies and coincidences, 14-year-old Lottie finds herself pretending to be the princess so that Ellie can live a more normal teenage life.

Lottie is thrust into the real world of royalty – a world filled with secrets, intrigue and betrayal. She must do everything she can to help Ellie keep her secret, but with school, the looming Maradovian ball and the mysterious new boy Jamie, she’ll soon discover that reality doesn’t always have the happily ever after you’d expect…

A thrilling world of parties, politics and bad ass princesses, this is the first book in the brand new series THE ROSEWOOD CHRONICLES.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Undercover Princess by Connie Glynn”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club, Spooks and Tea

Review: The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
Series: The Dead House #1
Genre: Horror | Young Adult
Length: 448 pages
Published on 10th March 2016 by Orion Children’s Books
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Dawn Kurtagich: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WHSmith with a gift card

Synopsis:
Twenty-five years ago, Elmbridge High School burned down. The blaze killed three and injured twenty, and one pupil, Carly Johnson, disappeared. For two decades, little was revealed about what became known as the Johnson Incident. Until now. A diary has been found in the ruins of the school. In this diary, Kaitlyn Johnson, Carly’s twin, tells of the strange and disturbing sequence of events leading to the incident. But Kaitlyn doesn’t exist. She never has. Chilling, creepy and compelling, THE DEAD HOUSE is one of those very special books that finds all the dark places in your imagination, and haunts you long after you’ve finished reading.

Continue reading “Review: The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich”

Book Reviews

Anthology Review: My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins

My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins
Genre: Holidays | Young Adult
Length: 355 pages
Published on 9th October by Pan MacMillan
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Stephanie Perkins: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Copy won from a Twitter giveaway

Synopsis:
If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins. Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or New Year’s there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

Continue reading “Anthology Review: My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas

Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas, Erick Freitas, and illustrated by Daniel Irizarri
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 80 pages
Published on 28th November 2017 by
Lion Forge Comics

Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Ulises Farinas: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Erick Freitas: Twitter | Goodreads
Review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
A lushly rendered supernatural fantasy that follows two girls and their mother who find themselves in the middle of a vast, supernatural exodus. On their journey Cloudia is bestowed the powers of hundreds of different gods, but even those don’t help her come to terms with the death of her father.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club

Review: Ice Massacre by Tiana Warner

Ice Massacre by Tiana Warner
Series: Mermaids of Eriana Kwai #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult | LGBT
Length: 375 pages
Published on 18th September 2014 by Rogue Cannon Publishing
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones
Tiana Warner: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Christmas present from my GF, Allie

Synopsis:
A mermaid’s supernatural beauty serves one purpose: to lure a sailor to his death.

The Massacre is supposed to bring peace to Eriana Kwai. Every year, the island sends its warriors to battle these hostile sea demons. Every year, the warriors fail to return. Desperate for survival, the island must decide on a new strategy. Now, the fate of Eriana Kwai lies in the hands of twenty battle-trained girls and their resistance to a mermaid’s allure.

Eighteen-year-old Meela has already lost her brother to the Massacre, and she has lived with a secret that’s haunted her since childhood. For any hope of survival, she must overcome the demons of her past and become a ruthless mermaid killer.

For the first time, Eriana Kwai’s Massacre warriors are female, and Meela must fight for her people’s freedom on the Pacific Ocean’s deadliest battleground.

Continue reading “Review: Ice Massacre by Tiana Warner”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: POS by Pierre Paquet

POS by Pierre Paquet
Series: NA
Genre: Nonfiction | Graphic Novel
Length: 256 pages
Published on 21st November 2017 by Lion Forge Comics
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones
Pierre Paquet: Goodreads
An eARC was provided thanks to NetGalley

Synopsis:
A young man struggles to build a publishing company, find love, and discover who he really is, with his one true trusted companion being the dog who truly seems to understand him. In the end, he realizes that for far too long he has been a self-absorbed piece of sh*t.nA touching autobiographical story by Swiss BD publisher Pierre Paquet, the spiritual sequel to Paquet’s Eisner-nominated A Glance Backward, which recounted his experience dealing with the death of his father at age 11.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: POS by Pierre Paquet”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club, Spooks and Tea

Review: Ten by Gretchen McNeil

Ten by Gretchen McNeil
Series: N/A
Genre: Mystery | Horror | Young Adult
Length: 320 pages
Published on 17th September 2013 by Balzer and Bray
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD
Gretchen McNeil: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Copy won from a giveaway

Synopsis:
From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pike’s Chain Letter and Lois Duncan’s I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, there’s no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

Continue reading “Review: Ten by Gretchen McNeil”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club, Travelling Books and Tea

Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver by Lois Lowry
Series: The Giver #1
Genre: Science Fiction | Dystopia
Length: 240 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Lois Lowry: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
I borrowed a copy as part of the Travelling Book Project

Synopsis:
“I have great honor,” The Giver said. “So will you. But you will find that is not the same as power.”

Life in the community where Jonas lives is idyllic. Designated birthmothers produce newchildren, who are assigned to appropriate family units: one male, one female, to each. Citizens are assigned their partners and their jobs. No one thinks to ask questions. Everyone obeys. The community is a world without conflict, inequality, divorce, unemployment injustice…or choice.

Everyone is the same.

Except Jonas.

At the Ceremony of Twelve, the community’s twelve-year-olds eagerly accept their predetermined Life Assignments. But Jonas is chosen for something special. He begins instruction in his life’s work with a mysterious old man known only as The Giver. Gradually Jonas learns that power lies in feelings. But when his own power is put to the test—when he must try to save someone he loves—he may not be ready. Is it too soon? Or too late?

Continue reading “Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins
Series: No
Genre: Horror | Contemporary | Young Adult
Length: 289 pages
Published on 26th September 2017 by Pan Macmillan
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Stephanie Perkins: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
ARC picked up at YALC

Synopsis:
Love hurts…
Makani Young thought she’d left her dark past behind her in Hawaii, settling in with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska. She’s found new friends and has even started to fall for mysterious outsider Ollie Larsson. But her past isn’t far behind.

Then, one by one, the students of Osborne Hugh begin to die in a series f gruesome murders, each with increasingly grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and her feelings for Ollie intensify, Makani is forced to confront her own dark secrets.

Continue reading “ARC Review: There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins”