Book Tours

Book Tour Extract: Forsaken Genesis by M.J. Marinescu

Forsaken Genesis by M.J. Marinescu
Series: Deluge Prophecies #1
Genre: Fantasy | Cyberpunk
Length: 266 pages
Published on 25th September 2018 by Tellwell Talent
Purchase: Amazon
M.J. Marinescu: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Synopsis: The world has changed in more ways than one. Most humans live in the safety of the hive cities, massive industrial complexes walled off to the outside world. Yet, the dangers of the wilds are no longer limited to the outskirts. Rumours abound of strange things in the night. Sightings of subhumans and citizens being abducted, whisked off by men in vans or worse. The Department of Control keeps a close eye on the citizens of Avalon but who are they protecting?

Melissa thought the world outside the facility would be safe. Free from the pain and the incessant tests of the men in white coats but what she finds is a world unknown. Fleeting memories call to her like a siren song pleading for her to remember. Can she figure out her strange dreams and the shadowed figure who hounds her in her sleep? She must discover who she is and come to terms with the truth that may have been kept from her for good reason if she hopes to survive in this strange new world

Continue reading “Book Tour Extract: Forsaken Genesis by M.J. Marinescu”

Advertisements
Awards / Tags, Blogoween

Halloween Creatures Tag 2.0 | #Blogoween

screen-shot-2018-09-17-at-10-17-49-pm
Last year Anthony from Keep Reading Forward created a Halloween Creatures Tag and he’s reworked it for this year. This is the version he’d like you to do if you decide to take part!

Happy Halloween!
It is finally October again and time for the Halloween Creatures book tag.
Rules:
– Answer all prompts
– Answer honestly
– Tag 1-3 people
– Link back to his post
– Have fun!
and if you’re taking part as part of Blogoween, don’t forget to share your answers on Twitter with #Blogoween

Continue reading “Halloween Creatures Tag 2.0 | #Blogoween”

Blogoween, Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix

We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix
Genre: Horror | Adult
Length: 336 pages
Published on 18th September 2018 by Quirk Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Grady Hendrix: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
ARC received in exchanged for an honest review

Synopsis:
A new novel of supernatural horror (and pop culture) from the author of Horrorstor, My Best Friend’s Exorcism, and Paperbacks from Hell.
 

In the 1990s, heavy metal band Dürt Würk was poised for breakout success — but then lead singer Terry Hunt embarked on a solo career and rocketed to stardom as Koffin, leaving his fellow bandmates to rot in rural Pennsylvania. 

Two decades later, former guitarist Kris Pulaski works as the night manager of a Best Western – she’s tired, broke, and unhappy. Everything changes when she discovers a shocking secret from her heavy metal past: Turns out that Terry’s meteoric rise to success may have come at the price of Kris’s very soul.This revelation prompts Kris to hit the road, reunite with the rest of her bandmates, and confront the man who ruined her life. It’s a journey that will take her from the Pennsylvania rust belt to a Satanic rehab center and finally to a Las Vegas music festival that’s darker than any Mordor Tolkien could imagine. A furious power ballad about never giving up, even in the face of overwhelming odds, We Sold Our Souls is an epic journey into the heart of a conspiracy-crazed, paranoid country that seems to have lost its very soul…where only a girl with a guitar can save us all.

Continue reading “ARC Review: We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix”

Books and Tea Book Club, Monthly Updates, Spooks and Tea

Books and Tea Book Club | #SpooksandTea announcement

batthing

Books and Tea Book Club | October Events
Hi guys, I’m checking in again to let y’all know the variety of things we have happening throughout October. If you want a full run down on what my Book Club has to offer please visit this post.

This is a special post as I’ll go into lots of detail about our Horror Read-a-thon “SpooksandTea” – this will be our third year running it!
Continue reading “Books and Tea Book Club | #SpooksandTea announcement”

Discussion, Guest Post

Why these books deserve their own Funko Pops | Anthony from Keep Reading Forward

20180910_130228a

Why these books deserve their own Funko Pops | written by Anthony from Keep Reading Forward.

As you may know I’m away for a long weekend as a birthday treat so I very kindly asked the #NewBloggers group if anyone would like to guest post whilst I was gone.

One of my BooksandTea moderators – Anthony – said he’d love to take part but wasn’t sure on the topic. I can’t think of Anthony without thinking about his love for Funkos so I suggested this topic which he loved.

Keep reading to find out which books he thinks should have Funko Pops!

Continue reading “Why these books deserve their own Funko Pops | Anthony from Keep Reading Forward”

Discussion, Guest Post

5 Reasons Why Love in Books is Overrated | Clo from Book Dragons 24/7

overreated

5 Reasons Why Love in Books is Overrated | written by Clo from Book Dragons 24/7

As you may know I’m away for a long weekend as a birthday treat so I very kindly asked the #NewBloggers group if anyone would like to guest post whilst I was gone.

The lovely Clo stepped up with a few ideas she’d happily write and “5 reasons why love in books is overrated” was one that stood out to me as I was intrigued to hear her thoughts as its something I agree with.

Keep reading to find out her reasons why!

Continue reading “5 Reasons Why Love in Books is Overrated | Clo from Book Dragons 24/7”

Blogoween

Blogoween | Full Prompt List

Blogoween final png

If you want to find out more about Blogoween and be able to sign up be sure to check out the first post or stop by Clo at Bookish Dragons 24/7 blog.

Keep reading if you’d like to see what Prompts the #NewBloggers bunch have come up with to help you feel inspired. Remember you don’t have to use any or all of these prompts, they’re just here for inspiration to help you get through which ever level of Blogoween you signed up for.
Continue reading “Blogoween | Full Prompt List”

Book Reviews

ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand
Genre: Horror | Paranormal | Young Adult
Length: 464 pages
Published on 4th October 2018 by HarperCollins
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Claire Legrand: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
Fans of Victoria Schwab, Nova Ren Suma, and Netflix’s hit show Stranger Things will crave this frightening stand-alone contemporary teen horror novel about three girls who take on an insidious monster that preys upon young women.
Who are the Sawkill Girls?Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand”

Blogoween

Blogoween | Announcement and Sign Up

Blogoween final png

Its not October yet, how dare I start talking about Halloween related things! But I am and you can’t stop me.

Keep reading if you’d like to find out what Blogoween is and how to take part with the lovely #NewBloggers bunch! Clo at Bookish Dragons 24/7 is the main host of this bookish blogoween but it was a group conversation that set this in motion – this is the type of stuff you’re missing out on if you’re not a member. Working ideas off one and other is so much fun.
Continue reading “Blogoween | Announcement and Sign Up”

Cover Reveal

Cover Reveal: Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich

It has been a long time since I’ve taken part in a cover reveal when Jenn reached out asking if myself and some other bloggers would like to help reveal the cover for Dawn Kurtagich’s new book – Teeth in the Mist – I jumped at the chance.

I’ve read The Dead House by Dawn which I loved and recommend at work whenever possible so I’m super excited to pick this book up too!

Other books by her include: The Creeper Man (And the Trees Crept In if you’re in the US) and the Dead House companion novella: The Naida Tapes.
Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich”