Book Reviews, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: The Valiant by Matt Kindt

The Valiant by Matt Kindt and illustrated by Paolo Rivera.
Series: The Valiant #1-4
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 112 pages
Published on 24th May 2015 by Valiant Entertainment, LLC
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Matt Kindt: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Paolo Rivera: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Joe Rivera: Goodreads
Dave Lanphear: Twitter | Goodreads
Dave Sharpe: Goodreads
Jeff Lemiret: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Diamond BookShelf newsletter

Synopsis:
From New York Times best-selling writers Jeff Lemire (Bloodshot Reborn, Green Arrow) and Matt Kindt (Ninjak, MIND MGMT), and Eisner award-winning artist Paolo Rivera (Daredevil) comes an epic ten millennia in the making!
The Eternal Warrior has protected the Earth for more than 10,000 years. A master of countless weapons and long forgotten martial arts, he is guided by the Geomancers — those who speak for the Earth. During his long watch, the Eternal Warrior has failed three times. Each time, the Geomancer was killed…and a new dark age for humanity began. Each time, he was unable to stop The Immortal Enemy – a monstrous force of nature. A civilization killer. A horror that appears differently each time it arrives…and whose seemingly only purpose is to bring disorder and darkness to the world. Now, the time has come for The Immortal Enemy to return once more. But, this time, the Eternal Warrior will be ready. This time, he has a force greater than any single warrior. This time, he has…The Valiant.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: The Valiant by Matt Kindt”

Advertisements
Books and Tea Book Club, Monthly Updates

Books and Tea Book Club | July Events

batthing

Books and Tea Book Club | July Events
Hi guys, I’m checking in again to let y’all know the variety of things we have happening throughout July. If you want a full run down on what my Book Club has to offer please visit this post.

Want to know whats happening within the Book Club in July? Keep reading for an update.
Continue reading “Books and Tea Book Club | July Events”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: The Lost Path by Amélie Fléchais

The Lost Path by Amélie Fléchais
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 96 pages
Published on 28th March 2018 by Lion Forge Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Amélie Fléchais: Website | Goodreads
Digital review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
Three young boys set off from Camp Happiness, map in hand, determined to be the first to find the treasure before anyone else. But the shortcut they take leads to something far more spectacular and sinister! All manner of magical beasties live in these woods, and the kids find themselves caught between warring Forest Spirits. Will the three boys find their way out of trouble? Get your map and ready, set, go! Amélie Fléchais’s incredible artwork combines the best of French illustration with manga influences. A spooky new fairytale, for fans of Over the Garden Wall.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: The Lost Path by Amélie Fléchais”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Motor Crush, Vol 1 by Brenden Fletcher

Motor Crush, Vol. 1 by Brenden Fletcher and Cameron Stewart and illustrated by Babs Tarr
Series: Motor Crush #1
Genre: Science Fiction | Graphic Novel
Length: 136 pages
Published on 20th June 2017 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Brenden Fletcher: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Cameron Stewart: Twitter | Goodreads
Babs Tarr: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
The team behind the critically-acclaimed revamp of Batgirl returns with an exciting sci-fi action-adventure series!
By day, Domino Swift competes for fame & fortune in a worldwide motorcycle racing league. By night, she cracks heads of rival gangs in brutal bike wars to gain possession of a rare, valuable contraband: an engine-boosting “machine narcotic” known as Crush.
Collecting: Motor Crush 1-5

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Motor Crush, Vol 1 by Brenden Fletcher”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: Void Trip by Ryan O’Sullivan

Void Trip by Ryan O’Sullivan and illustrated by Plaid Klaus
Series: Void Trip #1-5
Genre: Science Fiction | Graphic Novel
Length: 144 pages
Published on 5th June 2018 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Ryan O’Sullivan: Twitter | Goodreads
Plaid Klaus: Twitter | Goodreads
Digital Review Copy received from Edelweiss for review

Synopsis:
From writer RYAN O’SULLIVAN (Turncoat, The Evil Within, Warhammer 40,000) and illustrator PLAID KLAUS (Turncoat) comes the story of Ana and Gabe, the last two humans left alive in the galaxy. They’re low on fuel, they’re low on food, and they’re low on psychedelic space froot, but they’re still determined to make it to the promised land: hippy-paradise super-planet Euphoria. This is the story of their journey, the friends and enemies they made along the way, and how the universe responded to those who dared to live freely within it.
Collects issues 1 through 5.

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: Void Trip by Ryan O’Sullivan”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks

Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks and illustrated by Gabo
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 112 pages
Published on 17th April 2018 by Oni Press
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Kyle Starks: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Gabo: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley

Synopsis:
Air Bud meets The Walking Dead!
From the tabletop smash hit comes this new comic series starring your favorite characters from Plaid Hat Games’ DEAD OF WINTER, written by Kyle Starks (the Eisner Award-nominated Sexcastle), and illustrated by Gabo (The Life After).

In the pantheon of superheroes, none are more loveable and loyal than everyone’s favorite good ol’ dog, Sparky. Surviving in the wintery apocalypse of the undead, this former TV show stunt dog turned zombie killing machine just wants to make friends and be a good boy. As his fellow survivors scavenge for supplies in the frigid wasteland, will Sparky be able to protect his companions from threats both undead and otherwise? Collects issues #1-4 from the “Good Good Dog” storyline from DEAD OF WINTER!

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas

Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas, Erick Freitas, and illustrated by Daniel Irizarri
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 80 pages
Published on 28th November 2017 by
Lion Forge Comics

Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Ulises Farinas: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Erick Freitas: Twitter | Goodreads
Review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
A lushly rendered supernatural fantasy that follows two girls and their mother who find themselves in the middle of a vast, supernatural exodus. On their journey Cloudia is bestowed the powers of hundreds of different gods, but even those don’t help her come to terms with the death of her father.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: POS by Pierre Paquet

POS by Pierre Paquet
Series: NA
Genre: Nonfiction | Graphic Novel
Length: 256 pages
Published on 21st November 2017 by Lion Forge Comics
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones
Pierre Paquet: Goodreads
An eARC was provided thanks to NetGalley

Synopsis:
A young man struggles to build a publishing company, find love, and discover who he really is, with his one true trusted companion being the dog who truly seems to understand him. In the end, he realizes that for far too long he has been a self-absorbed piece of sh*t.nA touching autobiographical story by Swiss BD publisher Pierre Paquet, the spiritual sequel to Paquet’s Eisner-nominated A Glance Backward, which recounted his experience dealing with the death of his father at age 11.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: POS by Pierre Paquet”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green

Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green
Series: N/A
Genre: Graphic Novel | Nonfiction
Length: 509 pages
Published on 3rd October 2017 by Jonathan Cape
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Katie Green: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Digital review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
Like most kids, Katie was a picky eater. She’d sit at the table in silent protest, hide uneaten toast in her bedroom, listen to parental threats that she’d have to eat it for breakfast.

But in any life a set of circumstance can collide, and normal behavior might soon shade into something sinister, something deadly.

Lighter Than My Shadow is a hand-drawn story of struggle and recovery, a trip into the black heart of a taboo illness, an exposure of those who are so weak as to prey on the vulnerable, and an inspiration to anybody who believes in the human power to endure towards happiness.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green”