Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks

Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks and illustrated by Gabo
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 112 pages
Published on 17th April 2018 by Oni Press
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Kyle Starks: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Gabo: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley

Synopsis:
Air Bud meets The Walking Dead!
From the tabletop smash hit comes this new comic series starring your favorite characters from Plaid Hat Games’ DEAD OF WINTER, written by Kyle Starks (the Eisner Award-nominated Sexcastle), and illustrated by Gabo (The Life After).

In the pantheon of superheroes, none are more loveable and loyal than everyone’s favorite good ol’ dog, Sparky. Surviving in the wintery apocalypse of the undead, this former TV show stunt dog turned zombie killing machine just wants to make friends and be a good boy. As his fellow survivors scavenge for supplies in the frigid wasteland, will Sparky be able to protect his companions from threats both undead and otherwise? Collects issues #1-4 from the “Good Good Dog” storyline from DEAD OF WINTER!

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas

Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas, Erick Freitas, and illustrated by Daniel Irizarri
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 80 pages
Published on 28th November 2017 by
Lion Forge Comics

Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Ulises Farinas: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Erick Freitas: Twitter | Goodreads
Review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
A lushly rendered supernatural fantasy that follows two girls and their mother who find themselves in the middle of a vast, supernatural exodus. On their journey Cloudia is bestowed the powers of hundreds of different gods, but even those don’t help her come to terms with the death of her father.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: POS by Pierre Paquet

POS by Pierre Paquet
Series: NA
Genre: Nonfiction | Graphic Novel
Length: 256 pages
Published on 21st November 2017 by Lion Forge Comics
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones
Pierre Paquet: Goodreads
An eARC was provided thanks to NetGalley

Synopsis:
A young man struggles to build a publishing company, find love, and discover who he really is, with his one true trusted companion being the dog who truly seems to understand him. In the end, he realizes that for far too long he has been a self-absorbed piece of sh*t.nA touching autobiographical story by Swiss BD publisher Pierre Paquet, the spiritual sequel to Paquet’s Eisner-nominated A Glance Backward, which recounted his experience dealing with the death of his father at age 11.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: POS by Pierre Paquet”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green

Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green
Series: N/A
Genre: Graphic Novel | Nonfiction
Length: 509 pages
Published on 3rd October 2017 by Jonathan Cape
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Katie Green: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Digital review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
Like most kids, Katie was a picky eater. She’d sit at the table in silent protest, hide uneaten toast in her bedroom, listen to parental threats that she’d have to eat it for breakfast.

But in any life a set of circumstance can collide, and normal behavior might soon shade into something sinister, something deadly.

Lighter Than My Shadow is a hand-drawn story of struggle and recovery, a trip into the black heart of a taboo illness, an exposure of those who are so weak as to prey on the vulnerable, and an inspiration to anybody who believes in the human power to endure towards happiness.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Paper Girls, Vol 1 by Brian K. Vaughan

Paper Girls, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and illustrated by Cliff Chiang and Matthew Wilson
Series: Paper Girls #1
Genre: Graphic Novel | Science Fiction
Length: 144 pages
Published on 5th April 2016 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Brian K. Vaughan: Goodreads
Cliff Chiang: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Matthew Wilson: Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
In the early hours after Halloween of 1988, four 12-year-old newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. Suburban drama and otherworldly mysteries collide in this smash-hit series about nostalgia, first jobs, and the last days of childhood.
Collects Paper Girls #1-5.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Paper Girls, Vol 1 by Brian K. Vaughan”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: The Little Red Wolf by Amélie Fléchais

The Little Red Wolf by Amélie Fléchais
Series: N/A
Genre: Graphic Novel | Fantasy
Length: 80 pages
Published on 3rd October 2017 by Diamond Book Distributors
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Waterstones | WHSmith
Amélie Fléchais: Website | Goodreads
Digital review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
Lose yourself in in the dark forests of Amelie Flechais’ spectacular artwork. A young wolf, on a journey to bring his grandmother a rabbit, is charmed by the nice little girl who offers to help him… but nice is not the same as good. A haunting fairy tale for children and adults alike.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: The Little Red Wolf by Amélie Fléchais”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Taproot by Keezy Young

Taproot by Keezy Young
Series: Standalone?
Genre: Graphic Novel | Fantasy | LGBT
Length: 127 pages
Published on 26th September 2017 by Lion Forge
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Keezy Young: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Review copy received via NetGalley

Synopsis:
Blue is having a hard time moving on. He’s in love with his best friend. He’s also dead. Luckily, Hamal can see ghosts, leaving Blue free to haunt him to his heart’s content. But something eerie is happening in town, leaving the local afterlife unsettled, and when Blue realizes Hamal’s strange ability may be putting him in danger, Blue has to find a way to protect him, even if it means… leaving him.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Taproot by Keezy Young”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Darth Vader, Vol. 1: Vader by Kieron Gillen

Darth Vader, Vol 1: Vader by Kieron Gillen, Illustrated by Salvador Larroca
Series: Star Wars Disney Canon Graphic Novel Darth Vader #1
Genre: Graphic Novel | Science Fiction
Length: 160 pages
Published on 20th October 2015 by Marvel
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Kieron Gillen: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Salvador Larroca: Twitter | Goodreads
Copy got for free due to Amazon Prime

Synopsis:
The original Dark Lord of the Sith stars in his first ongoing series! Ever since Darth Vader’s first on-screen appearance, he has become one of pop-culture’s most popular villains. Now, follow Vader straight from the ending of A NEW HOPE (and the pages of the new STAR WARS comic book) into his own solo adventures — showing the Empire’s war with the Rebel Alliance from the other side! But when a Dark Lord needs help, who can he turn to? As Vader pursues a very personal vengeance against the Rebels and investigates the Emperor’s secret machinations, he clashes with weapons scavenger Aphra and deadly Battle Droids, and returns to Geonosis to build an army. But some very powerful people don’t want him to learn the truths he seeks! Guest-starring Jabba the Hutt, Boba Fett and more!
Collecting DARTH VADER #1-6.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Darth Vader, Vol. 1: Vader by Kieron Gillen”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan

Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and illustrated by Fiona Staples
Series: Saga #1
Genre: Graphic Novel | Fantasy
Length: 160 pages
Published on 23rd October 2012 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Brian K. Vaughan: Goodreads
Fiona Staples: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Copy bought for myself

Synopsis:
When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.
From bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan, Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults.Collecting: Saga 1-6

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan”