Book Reviews, Received for Review

Why I DNF The Beholder, The Meaning of Birds and 5 other books

Recent books I did not finish
I’m looking at my “Review to Write” list and noticing it’s gotten pretty out of hand, its fine I’ll catch up. It’s one of my main focuses for the month.

Today I plan to lower the count by 7. Yes that’s right I’m going to talk about 7 books I chose to DNF already this year. Keep reading to see which books I didn’t finish and why.
Continue reading “Why I DNF The Beholder, The Meaning of Birds and 5 other books”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Poetry Review: Where I Ache by Megan O’Keeffe

Where I Ache by Megan O’Keeffe
Genre: Nonfiction | Poetry
Length: 157 pages
Published on 10th June 2019 by Author
Purchase*: Amazon
*these are affiliate links
Megan O’Keeffe: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Received for free from the author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:
Where I Ache is broken up into six chapters ranging from themes such as depression, jealousy, death, and strength. These are delicate subjects to talk about and most people avoid them because of the uncomfortable vulnerability. I’ve always written and shared my poetry with the hope that readers would relate and feel less alone. I hope you feel a sense of community to all of those connected throughout this collection.

Continue reading “Poetry Review: Where I Ache by Megan O’Keeffe”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Review: The Infinite Noise ARC | Written by Gail

The Infinite Noise by Lauren Shippen Series: The Bright Sessions #1 Genre: LGBT | Young Adult Length: 336 pages Published on 24th September 2019 by Tor Teen Purchase*: Amazon | Wordery *these are affiliate links Lauren Shippen: Website | Twitter | Goodreads Received for free from the author in exchange for an honest review
Synopsis: From Lauren Shippen, the creator of the beloved and award-winning podcast The Bright Sessions, comes the first novel in a series that follows the struggles and discoveries of three teenagers with supernatural abilites who end up on the couch of Dr. Bright, a mysterious therapist who specializes in atypicals. “What if the X-Men, instead of becoming superheroes, decided to spend some time in therapy?”

I was lucky enough to be selected to get an ARC of The Infinite Noise by Lauren Shippen (my first ever ARC!). I had finished reading it only a day later, and I am glad to say, upfront, before we get into the nitty gritty details, that I really, truly enjoyed it.

Continue reading “Review: The Infinite Noise ARC | Written by Gail”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb

Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb
Series: Lucid #1
Genre: Paranormal | Romance | Young Adult
Length: 272 pages
Published on 23rd April 2019 by Lakewater Press
Purchase*: Amazon | Wordery | Blackwells
*these are affiliate links
Kristy Fairlamb: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Received for free from the author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis: A Terrifying Power. A Horrifying Curse.

Lucy Piper lives a lonely existence on the precipice between life and death. She possesses the horrifying ability to resurrect real-life tragic events in her nightmares, reliving over and over, as if she were there, the last few moments before the victim takes their final breath. Car accidents, drownings, plane crashes – Lucy has seen it all. No one understands what it’s like living death by night and fearing sleep by day.

When Tyler Sims and his family move to town to escape past traumas, Lucy is drawn to him. The two of them are linked through their dreams, and with Tyler’s trust and friendship, hope for a brighter future returns to Lucy’s world. But Tyler’s presence awakens something else in Lucy, and with this new knowledge she will be forced to make impossible decisions. Decisions that will change history, and the future.

Chilling, haunting and compelling, this novel is the first in a two-part series for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Hidden Memory of Objects that will leave you breathless for days.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Dream Daddy by Leighton Gray & Vernon Shaw

Dream Daddy: A Dad Dating Simulator by Leighton Gray and Vernon Shaw
Series: Dream Daddy #1
Genre: Contemporary | Graphic Novel | LGBT
Length: 128 pages
Published on 14th May 2019 by Oni Press
Purchase*: Amazon | Wordery | Blackwells
*these are affiliate links
Leighton Gray: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Vernon Shaw: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Received for free from publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis: As seen on The Daily Dot, Engadget, Pride, i09 and more, the Dream Daddy comics are now collected in a trade paperback!

Oni Press presents Dream Daddy, a comics series based on the acclaimed Game Grumps visual novel video game!

Dream Daddy: A Dad Dating Simulator invites the player to Maple Bay, where they play as a single Dad new to town and eager to romance other hot Dads. The comic series tells five standalone stories, each focused on different Maple Bay Dads, their kids, and their relationships with one another. Dive into entirely new stories featuring the backstories and adventures of your favorite Dads, told by game co-creators Leighton Gray and Vernon Shaw, along with the comic industry’s top indie talent like C. Spike Trotman, Josh Trujillo, and Kris Anka!

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Dream Daddy by Leighton Gray & Vernon Shaw”