Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian

Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian
Series: Ash Princess Trilogy #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 448 pages
Published on 14th June 2018 by Macmillan Children’s Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Laura Sebastian: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy recieved for review via NetGalley

Synopsis:
The queen you were meant to be.
The land you were meant to save.

The throne you were meant to claim.

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Fire Queen, was murdered before her eyes. Ten years later, Theo has learned to survive under the relentless abuse of the Kaiser and his court as the ridiculed Ash Princess.

When the Kaiser forces her to execute her last hope of rescue, Theo can’t ignore her feelings and memories any longer. She vows revenge, throwing herself into a plot to seduce and murder the Kaiser’s warrior son with the help of a group of magically gifted and volatile rebels. But Theo doesn’t expect to develop feelings for the Prinz.Forced to make impossible choices and unable to trust even those who are on her side, Theo will have to decide how far she’s willing to go to save her people and how much of herself she’s willing to sacrifice to become Queen.

From author Laura Sebastian comes Ash Princess, a nail-biting YA fantasy debut full of daring and vengeance.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Poetry Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace

The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace
Series: Women are Some Kind of Magic #2
Genre: Poetry | Feminism
Length: 208 pages
Published on 6th March 2018 by Andrews McMeel Poetry
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Amanda Lovelace: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
2016 Goodreads Choice Award-winning poet Amanda Lovelace returns in the witch doesn’t burn in this one — the bold second book in her “women are some kind of magic” series.

The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now—indestructible. These moving, relatable poems encourage resilience and embolden women to take control of their own stories. Enemies try to judge, oppress, and marginalize her, but the witch doesn’t burn in this one.

Continue reading “ARC Poetry Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland

Everless by Sara Holland
Series: Everless #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 361 pages
Published on 4th January 2018 by Orchard Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Sara Holland: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley, ARC from YALC, physical copy bought via FairyLoot

Synopsis:
Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire – a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.
In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything – even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family.There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever … and possibly the future of time itself.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland”

Book Events, Book Reviews, Received for Review, TEENSgate

Review: Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli

Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli
Series: Creekwood
Genre: LGBT | Contemporary | Young Adult
Length: 352 pages
Published on 30th January 2018 by Penguin
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Becky Albertalli: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via TEENSgate Blogger Event.

Synopsis:
Straight people should have to come out too. And the more awkward it is, the better.
Simon Spier is sixteen and trying to work out who he is – and what he’s looking for.

But when one of his emails to the very distracting Blue falls into the wrong hands, things get all kinds of complicated.Because, for Simon, falling for Blue is a big deal . . .

It’s a holy freaking huge awesome deal.

Continue reading “Review: Love, Simon by Becky Albertalli”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
Series: The Folk of the Air #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 370 pages
Published on 28th March 2015 by Hot Key Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Holly Black: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley, physical copy bought via FairyLoot and B&N

Synopsis:
Of course I want to be like them. They’re beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.
And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.To win a place at the Court, she must defy him–and face the consequences.In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Cruel Prince by Holly Black”

Book Reviews, Book Tours, Books and Tea Book Club, Giveaway, Received for Review

Book Tour Review: The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco

The Heart Forger by Rin Cupeco
Series: The Bone Witch #2
Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 528 pages
Published on 20th March 2018 by Sourcebooks Fire
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Rin Chupeco: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received for Book Tour and physical copy pre-ordered

Synopsis:
In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection―now she’s after revenge…
No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life…and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her―and took the life of her one true love.But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea’s dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can’t kill someone who can never die…War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.

Continue reading “Book Tour Review: The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club

Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch by Rin Cupeco
Series: The Bone Witch #1
Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 432 pages
Published on 7th March 2017 by Sourcebooks Fire
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Rin Chupeco: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Copy received from my secret santa

Synopsis:
The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer.
Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves.

Continue reading “Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco”

Book Events, Book Reviews, Received for Review, TEENSgate

ARC Review: The Truth and Lies of Ella Black by Emily Barr

The Truth and Lies of Ella Black by Emily Barr
Genre: Contemporary | Young Adult
Length: 288 pages
Published on 11th January 2018 by Penguin
Purchase: Amazon | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Emily Barr: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
ARC sent to work for consideration, finished copy received for review from TEENSgate and Penguin Platform.

Synopsis:
Ella Black seems to live the life most other seventeen-year-olds would kill for . . .
Until one day, telling her nothing, her parents whisk her off to Rio de Janeiro. Determined to find out why, Ella takes her chance and searches through their things.And realises her life has been a lie.Her mother and father aren’t hers at all. Unable to comprehend the truth, Ella runs away, to the one place they’ll never think to look – the favelas.But there she learns a terrible secret – the truth about her real parents and their past. And the truth about a mother, desperate for a daughter taken from her seventeen years ago . . .

Continue reading “ARC Review: The Truth and Lies of Ella Black by Emily Barr”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Poetry Review: DROPKICKromance by Cyrus Parker

DROPKICKromance by Cyrus Parker
Genre: Poetry | Nonfiction
Length: 176 pages
Published on 6th March 2018 by Andrews McMeel Publishing
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Cyrus Parker: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eARC received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
A collection of autobiographical poetry about healing and learning to love again from professional-wrestler-turned-poet, Cyrus Parker.
The first half of DROPKICKromance focuses on a toxic, long-distance relationship the author was involved in for several years, while the second half focuses on his current relationship with poet Amanda Lovelace. Ultimately, the collection tells about a profound journey of healing.

Continue reading “ARC Poetry Review: DROPKICKromance by Cyrus Parker”