Book Tours

Book Tour Extract: Forsaken Genesis by M.J. Marinescu

Forsaken Genesis by M.J. Marinescu
Series: Deluge Prophecies #1
Genre: Fantasy | Cyberpunk
Length: 266 pages
Published on 25th September 2018 by Tellwell Talent
Purchase: Amazon
M.J. Marinescu: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Synopsis: The world has changed in more ways than one. Most humans live in the safety of the hive cities, massive industrial complexes walled off to the outside world. Yet, the dangers of the wilds are no longer limited to the outskirts. Rumours abound of strange things in the night. Sightings of subhumans and citizens being abducted, whisked off by men in vans or worse. The Department of Control keeps a close eye on the citizens of Avalon but who are they protecting?

Melissa thought the world outside the facility would be safe. Free from the pain and the incessant tests of the men in white coats but what she finds is a world unknown. Fleeting memories call to her like a siren song pleading for her to remember. Can she figure out her strange dreams and the shadowed figure who hounds her in her sleep? She must discover who she is and come to terms with the truth that may have been kept from her for good reason if she hopes to survive in this strange new world

Continue reading “Book Tour Extract: Forsaken Genesis by M.J. Marinescu”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Watersnakes by Tony Sandoval

Watersnakes by Tony Sandoval
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 144 pages
Published on 20th November 2018 by Lion Forge Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Tony Sandoval: Deviantart | Blogspot | Goodreads
eARC received from publishers via netgalley

Synopsis:
Mila is a quiet, solitary teenager ready to put another boring summer vacation behind her until she meets Agnes, an intriguing adventurous girl who turns out to be a ghost. And not just a regular ghost, but one carrying the essence of a fallen king, and a mouth full of teeth that used to be guardian warriors. She introduces Mila to a wondrous world of secret places and magic that exists deep beneath the ocean, and the occult battle for freedom that approaches…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Watersnakes by Tony Sandoval”

Book Reviews

ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand
Genre: Horror | Paranormal | Young Adult
Length: 464 pages
Published on 4th October 2018 by HarperCollins
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Claire Legrand: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
Fans of Victoria Schwab, Nova Ren Suma, and Netflix’s hit show Stranger Things will crave this frightening stand-alone contemporary teen horror novel about three girls who take on an insidious monster that preys upon young women.
Who are the Sawkill Girls?Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand”

Cover Reveal

Cover Reveal: Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich

It has been a long time since I’ve taken part in a cover reveal when Jenn reached out asking if myself and some other bloggers would like to help reveal the cover for Dawn Kurtagich’s new book – Teeth in the Mist – I jumped at the chance.

I’ve read The Dead House by Dawn which I loved and recommend at work whenever possible so I’m super excited to pick this book up too!

Other books by her include: The Creeper Man (And the Trees Crept In if you’re in the US) and the Dead House companion novella: The Naida Tapes.
Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

DNF Reviews: Potter’s Boy by Tony Mitton and Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

Potter’s Boy by Tony Mitton
Genre: Historical | Middle Grade
Length: 220 pages
Published on 2nd November 2017 by David Fickling Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Tony Mitton: Website
ARC picked up at YALC 2017

Synopsis:
An epic journey of self-discovery that will resonate with anyone searching for their place in the world.
A Moving a beautiful story about a boy who finds his true path whilst learning the importance of mindfulness and living in the moment, Potter’s Boy follows the story of Ryo. After witnessing a lone warrior scare bandits away from his village, Ryo sets his heart on training to become a hero.

Setting out on a journey to find his way in the world, his encounters with the people he meets leads him to a true understanding of what it meanst to follow his dreams.

Continue reading “DNF Reviews: Potter’s Boy by Tony Mitton and Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: A Thousand Beginnings and Endings by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings edited by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman
Genre: Fantasy | Short Stories | Young Adult
Length: 336 pages
Published on 26th June 2018 by HarperCollins
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Ellen Oh: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Elsie Chapman: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
ARC recieved from Harper in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:
Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.
Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

Continue reading “ARC Review: A Thousand Beginnings and Endings by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: The Castoffs, V.1: Mage Against the Machine by M.K. Reed

The Castoffs, V.1: Mage Against the Machine by M.K. Reed
Series: The Castoffs #1-4
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 119 pages
Published on 12th April 2017 by Lion Forge
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
M.K. Reed: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Brian Smith: Goodreads
Molly Ostertag: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Wyeth Yates: Goodreads
eCopy received from Diamond BookShelf newsletter

Synopsis:
It’s Mage against the Machine! Magic vs technology in Roar’s newest graphic novel. When three apprentice mages are sent to help a neighboring guild, they reignite a decades-old war with a robot army that has destroyed the world.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: The Castoffs, V.1: Mage Against the Machine by M.K. Reed”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

DNF Review: The Fandom by Anna Day

The Fandom by Anna Day
Genre: Dystopia | Young Adult
Length: 402 pages
Published on 4th January 2018 by Chicken House
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Anna Day: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
ARC picked up at YALC 2017

Synopsis:
Cosplay ready, Violet and her friends are at Comic-Con.
They can’t wait to meet the fandom of mega movie, The Gallows Dance. What they’re not expecting is to be catapulted by freak accident into their favourite world – for real. Fuelled by love, guilt and fear, can the friends put the plot back on track and get out? The fate of the story is in their hands …

Continue reading “DNF Review: The Fandom by Anna Day”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Poetry Review: Scattered Constellations by Ankita Singh

Scattered Constellations by Ankita Singh
Genre: Poetry | Young Adult
Length: 80 pages
Published on 31st July 2018 by Amazon Direct Publishing
Purchase: Amazon
Ankita Singh: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received for review

Synopsis:
Words tumble out, with no pause;
From the pen, my anelace,
That I hold so graciously,
(In awe of its majesty, its power)
In my hand.
They form thoughts, hopes and musings;
Reflect my soul, my entire being,
And spread across the page,
Like scattered constellations
Across the sky.
(Scattered Constellations is a YA Free Verse Poetry collection.)

Continue reading “Poetry Review: Scattered Constellations by Ankita Singh”

Book Reviews

Review: The Surface Breaks by Louise O’Neill

The Surface Breaks by Louise O’Neill
Series: Genre: Fantasy | Retellingt | Young Adult
Length: 320 pages
Published on 3rd May 2018 by Scholastic
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Louise O’Neill: Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis:
Deep beneath the sea, off the cold Irish coast, Gaia is a young mermaid who dreams of freedom from her controlling father. On her first swim to the surface, she is drawn towards a human boy. She longs to join his carefree world, but how much will she have to sacrifice? What will it take for the little mermaid to find her voice? Hans Christian Andersen’s original fairy tale is reimagined through a searing feminist lens, with the stunning, scalpel-sharp writing and world building that has won Louise her legions of devoted fans. A book with the darkest of undercurrents, full of rage and rallying cries: storytelling at its most spellbinding.

Continue reading “Review: The Surface Breaks by Louise O’Neill”