Book Reviews

ARC Review: Vox by Christina Dalcher

Vox by Christina Dalcher
Genre: Science Fiction | Dystopia
Length: 384 pages
Published on 23rd August 2018 by HQ
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Christina Dalcher: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
ARC received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:
Set in an America where half the population has been silenced, VOX is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman will do to protect herself and her daughter.
On the day the government decrees that women are no longer allowed more than 100 words daily, Dr. Jean McClellan is in denial–this can’t happen here. Not in America. Not to her.This is just the beginning.Soon women can no longer hold jobs. Girls are no longer taught to read or write. Females no longer have a voice. Before, the average person spoke sixteen thousand words a day, but now women only have one hundred to make themselves heard.

But this is not the end.

For herself, her daughter, and every woman silenced, Jean will reclaim her voice.

Okay so I’ve actually just set up this layout before the book even arrives and I just want to preface this review by stating my plans.

So to keep things in theme I’d love to check in after each day of reeading and write my thoughts but only use 100 words or less. Hopefully this will be successful and if needs be at the end I can do a summary too.

2nd August, 16 pages read:
Unsettling start. Feeling angry towards male family, seem to accept the situation.
Heartbroken; daughter struggling, frustrated at having no voice.
Hopeless; no words – how can you disagree?
What happens when you use more than 100 words?!
But inspiring readers: be the change you want to see. Vote, Protest, before worrys become a reality.
(53)

3rd August, 90 pages read:
Found myself grinding my teeth / clenching my jaw in anger at the men.
Contrast between eldest son and youngest daughter is scary.
Feel my anxiety building that this could be our future.
She is presented with an opportunity to make a change.
(41)

4th August, 102 pages read:
Is the opportunity everything it seems?
Another surprise on the way meaning all her decisions, actions, inactions to have a heavier price.
Steven drank too much kool-aid but his eyes are being opened.
(33)

5th August, 176 pages read:
She finds her voice. She acts.
Jacko 💙
The resistance is real.
Definitely worth reading but my dreams of a poly relationship were crushed. Such an intense read!
(27)
Djq_tf8XsAAQ_76[1]
Okay I read so much on my last day I couldn’t even comprehend how to give a summary.

I also found it wasn’t too challenging for the previous days given that this was the only area I was counting my words on – doing it every day for ever single thing you said, no writing, and no sign language allowed? Yeah holy sh**. That would be very difficult.

So here is a bit of a wrap up of my thoughts.

Exploring this dystopian society via Jean’s eyes and her family was definitely the best choice.

Jean herself didn’t vote. She didn’t think things would get this bad. She thought her friend Jacko was overreacting.

So to get her p.o.v on just how bad things were great because she had to accept that part of this was her fault for never doing enough.

If you can vote, please do!

We also get to see how her eldest son fully embraces the new world. As well as having a huge wake up call.

Her daughter, the youngest child, initially struggling to adapt to being able to talk when she can because she’s been conditioned that no speaking means rewards and prizes.

The twins she had though seemed more of “I have a big family so I can’t just run away” as they didn’t really add too much to the story.

Lastly, there is her husband and how she views him. I don’t want to talk too much about his character because you’re viewing him very much through her lens so her anger and situation influence a lot of how we view him.

I hear you asking what happens if they spoke more than 100 words a day? They were electrocuted, for every word over the higher the electrocution.

Yes, its incredibly dangerous and the book definitely illustrates how.

I think the opportunities Jean was given within such an oppressive society really shows her priviledge due to her previous education and luckily she embraces it and uses it to the best of her ability for all women.

I think there is a very important scene where she talks about their situation with a black female who highlights to Jean how little she has been thinking about the women of colour and where the oppression may go if its not checked.

However, I do have a few complaints.

The ending, the real ending, is wrapped up in the last 26 pages or so and I just felt like they could have been expaned or explored a bit more. Less time jumps perhaps? It really made it feel rushed.

Lastly, there was a death that I believe didn’t need to happen and only happened of convience so Jean didn’t have to make a tough decision or y’know no poly relationship might’ve happened.

So lots of positives about this book for sure. Its an eye-opening read that really makes you think.

If you can pick up a copy I do really recommend it.

4 stars / 5 stars
If you enjoyed this post consider supporting Northern Plunder
Ko-fi | Twitter | Book Club | RedBubble

18 thoughts on “ARC Review: Vox by Christina Dalcher”

  1. This book sounds a little bit scary, but I love the idea!! I think I’m gonna look into it. Great review! 💕

  2. Ooh I have been hearing a lot about this book lately and it definitely does sound like this is one worth reading. I really love that you put this review in the style of the vox word count limit as well. You must really think about every word you say in that case. I also like that it emphasises how important it is to vote! I think that’s a mistake a lot of people make often…

      1. That’s hilarious! I worked in a bookstore when I was in college and would do the same thing. I’d recommend books we didn’t have in yet all the time!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.