Book Reviews, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Mini Reviews: Mae, Vol 1 by Gene Ha and Ghost Stories by Whit Taylor

Mae, Volume 1 by Gene Ha
Series: Mae #1-6
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 136 pages
Published on 7th February 2017 by Dark Horse Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Gene Ha: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Review copy received from publishers via NetGalley

Synopsis:
When she was just a girl, Abbie discovered a portal to fantasy world and for the last couple of years has been having great adventures there: defeating horrible monsters, power-mad scientists, and evil nobles. But by the time she turned twenty-one it all came apart and she decided to return home. Her sister, Mae, has had no idea what happened to Abbie after all this time. Her tales are too hard to believe–that is, until the monsters and other terrible creatures start to cross over to our world…
Collects the first six issues of the fantastical all-ages series, in the 6″ x 9″ format!

In prep for my Graphic Novel Read-a-thon in July I picked up a bunch of graphic novels from NetGalley because they’re available to download then and there rather than requesting and waiting.

I really do love utilising that part of the site.

The synopsis and active cover are what drew me into picking this one up, however I actually ended up adding this to my DNF pile.

I made my way through 53% of this book so I had made decent progress.

What did work for me was the story! It seemed to hold a lot of potential and it had some Wizard of Oz vibes to it too. (A young girl goes missing and ends up ruling a different place, only to return home and the other world fall apart).


However what didn’t work for me was the art.Its very clunky and styalised. Almost looks like it came from a video game? I found it very off putting to get through. I’m looking back at these screen captures now like yeah in small dosages its not so bad but when I was actively trying to read the whole thing? Nope, it wasn’t working for me at all.There is however areas in which it worked and for me it was the title pages.
32b1fba9bcf55f79deda0bb9e5872351
I mean look at how sweet and precious this looks?!

I have a feeling its the colour that helps tone it down and make it more accessable perhaps?

Anyway, not a book for me …but maybe its for you.

1 star / 5 stars

 

Ghost Stories by Whit Taylor
Genre: Contemporary | Graphic Novel
Length: 157 pages
Published on 10th January 2018 by Rosarium Publishing
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Whit Taylor: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Review copy received from publishers via NetGalley

Synopsis:
Ghost Stories is a graphic novel collection offering three haunting explorations. Granted the chance to meet three of her dead idols in “Ghost,” the author’s cartoon-self embarks on a journey to remote and unanticipated landscapes, in a story of self-discovery and healing. In “Wallpaper,” a child tells the story of a household move, remodel, and loss through the lens of flashbulb memory. And in “Makers,” two girls with an unorthodox friendship make a rocky transition into adulthood. Throughout each tale, ghosts exist as past selves and remnants of past relationships that are met with inquiry, resolution, and personal rebirth.

On a train to visit my boyfriend that was very fully I realised I couldn’t pick my current read up out of my bag so I was browsing my backlog of NetGalley books and found this.I didn’t remember it was a graphic novel but the fact it was made me very happy as I was able to read it all then and there on the train.

This isn’t like ooooh spoooky ghost stories to tell at sleepovers, its very much an exploration of ghosts in other ways.

For example, the ghost of past famous figures, of someone you loved, of your previous self, of friendships.

It is incredibly well done and put together. It explores some heavier subject matter in a very accessable manner.

However reading this as an ecopy was really difficult – particularly on my phone. It wouldnt let me zoom in often so a lot of the time I was squinting and guessing what some of the text said.

So my overall enjoyment was definitely hindered a bit.

2 stars / 5 stars
If you enjoyed this post consider supporting Northern Plunder
Ko-fi | Twitter | Book Club | RedBubble

8 thoughts on “Graphic Novel Mini Reviews: Mae, Vol 1 by Gene Ha and Ghost Stories by Whit Taylor”

  1. I like getting graphic novels from NetGalley too, but sometimes the file just not work on my PC? The text or the illustrations are missing… does that happen to you?
    Ghost Stories sounds like a really nice, I like it when the ghost story turns to be a bit different than normal.

    The art of Mae is definitely not my go-to, and it’s so hard to enjoy a graphic novel is you cannot connect with the art!

    1. Ive not really had issue on my PC but I do on my phone, like this one wouldnt let me zoom so I had to guess a lot of the smaller text.

      Yes if the art isn’t connecting w me I def struggle.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.