Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland

Everless by Sara Holland
Series: Everless #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult
Length: 361 pages
Published on 4th January 2018 by Orchard Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Sara Holland: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley, ARC from YALC, physical copy bought via FairyLoot

Synopsis:
Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire – a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.
In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything – even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family.There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever … and possibly the future of time itself.

I actually wasn’t entirely sure what to expect from Everless. I had no idea what it was about, just that I had seen a lot of hype for it and knew I was getting a copy via FairyLoot.

After getting my physical copy ARC I quickly requested it on NetGalley because I know I’m more likely to read physical books and we gotta do what we can to up that NG percentage!!!

I had actually read a bunch of terrible or a-okay books prior to this so I wasn’t in a great reading mood when I started. But my boyfriend wanted to play some CSGO before bed so I picked it up and hoped for the best.

The train ride home the next day I finished it.

Everless was exactly what I needed to get out of my slump.

I definitely enjoyed Everless, I’m looking forward to its sequel and I will recommend it to people who are looking for an easy fantasy read. But that is not to say it is without flaws.

Whilst the world building was unique to a book it is very familar (see: In Time, that one movie with JT). However to compare the two would also be cruel because they are still very different.

Everless has a more historical setting and uses magic/science to actually explain how blood becomes time/money. I really like how this is a system that is explained in a way that makes sense within the world and not left as a “sorry this is just how things are”.

I love the history within the world and the myths told to keep people warey and safe.

The characters were all pretty great too. They all had fleshed out personalities and characteristics making them interesting to read about, especially given how they all influenced the story one way or another.

adically none of the secondary characters felt boring or unimportant. They all had a role to play.

So why with all this love for the book do I think it has faults?

I felt like it was too predictable. Any twists that were to happen I’d already figured out a while before due to clues in the text. You may ask but Lauren isn’t that the point of foreshadowing?

I guess. But to me it felt too obviously laid out? I don’t think its a reason to not pick up the book, I think its simply this is the authors debut book and its likely something she’ll be better at in future works.

To be honest it wasn’t until reading The Cruel Prince straight afterwards that I could make this statement. The comparison between debut and …seasoned authors. I was stuck for a few days why I felt its predictability bothered me.

Back to the positives for sure though.

The last 30% or so of the book is very action packed and where all the story comes together very nicely. I was so excited and thrilled when reading it and seeing all the pieces fall together.

Not to mention the gorram cliff-hanger she leaves us on?! Damn. What a way to keep us waiting and wanting for me. Sara, you definitely have a huge fan here.20180220_150813

4 stars / 5 stars
If you enjoyed this post consider supporting Northern Plunder
Ko-fi | Twitter | Book Club | RedBubble

22 thoughts on “ARC Review: Everless by Sara Holland”

  1. Great review! This book is definitely on my radar of books to read at some point…knowing me I’ll get to it next year xD

  2. Lovely review! I’ve been curious about that one, the concept sounds really cool even if yes, it seems a bit similar to the movie, In Time (I still enjoyed that movie, so… I guess it’s okay that it is similar? haha). I’m sorr y to hear you found it a bit predictable though. I can’t wait to read it someday :)
    Thank you for sharing! :) x

  3. You’ve worded this review so well. I genuinely enjoyed this book when I read it, despite some of its simplicity and tropes. And now, everytime I hear a negative review I feel like second guessing myself.

    I agree 100% with your thoughts on this being a debut author. While it’s no excuse for poor writing etc. this book has a lot of potential as a series and has some really interesting elements. I’m super excited how Holland develops as an author, as well as this series.

    1. Awww thank you! I really enjoyed reading it or I wouldn’t have in such a short amount of time so it was hard to get that across whilst also being critical. I’m glad you liked it :)

  4. I’m glad you were able to enjoy Everless so much! It’s one I own but I have yet to read for some reason. It sounds like it might have some flaws, but actually predictability isn’t something I necessarily mind that much. I really am looking forward tot he extensive and well explained world building ^.^

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.