Challenges, State of the ARC, Updates

State of the ARC | Oh no, what did I do?

State-of-the-ARC
State of the ARC |
Oh no, what did I do?

Every month I see Ava’s posts go live and every month I’m like y’know what I can do this.

I finally did last month and I’m back at it again.

So my plan was to share where I was at the end of April and then compare it to May’s graph…

However, when I came to making May’s graph things were not adding up so at midnight last night I’m in a panic trying to figure out what on earth I did and eventually gave up.

I went ahead and made a spreadsheet so I knew what books I was counting in the graph and also noticed I missed a whole lot the first time around too.

So lets start fresh.


At the end of May this is officially 100% what my graph looks like:

end of may

So if you did see my old post you might think oh my god what on Earth did she do?!It is okay, I promise. Its not as bad as it looks.

Lets start with the good, lets look at what reviews that I managed to post.

Blade Runner by Philip K. Dick ⭐⭐⭐⭐ | The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace ⭐⭐⭐ | Silver & Bone by Claudia Cain ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Click the titles to see my thoughts on them.

I also have scheduled reviews for Void Trip by Ryan O’Sullivan ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, The Lost Path by Amelie Flechais ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐, The Goddess Collection by Ailie Wallace ⭐⭐⭐, and The Valiant by Matt Kindt ⭐.

Click the titles to see Goodread pages.

Now I only have 4 reviews due of books I’ve read! How great is that?


Given my productivity and progress I decided to *ahem* ruin my life treat myself by requesting and accepting new books. Smart move Lauren!

No 1. with a Bullet | Void Trip | Sheets | Spinning Silver | Sea Witch | Sunfish | The Goddess Collection | Parasite Life | Colour Me In | Thats Not What Happened

Now, before we panic, I’ve already read 3 of those books as mentioned earlier in the post. The last two were unsollicited too.

I’d already been declined for Sea Witch on Edelweiss so I expected the same on NetGalley, turns out I was wrong. I also really didn’t expect to be accepted for Spinning Silver (though that download is currently broken and they’re trying to fix it)!

I’m sure I’ll get back on track… Again.


Next month I believe I’ll be attempting to finish reading the following ARCs, as well as some others:

Grace & Fury | Ash Princess

I guess I got a bit slow with these given all the other (12) books I ended up reading in May.

How are you doing with your ARCs?
If you enjoyed this post consider supporting Northern Plunder
Ko-fi | Twitter | Book Club | RedBubble

22 thoughts on “State of the ARC | Oh no, what did I do?”

  1. You’re making a dent!

    But seriously where is the ARC for Sunfish?! I’m am going searching NOW (and don’t worry about the ‘treat yo self’ of ARCs, we’ve all done that).

      1. TY! I really enjoyed Soft in the Middle and was pretty keen when I saw she had released a new collection!

  2. Oh wow! You do have quite a pile of ARCs waiting for you, Lauren– but that’s okay! This is why we have State of the ARC. The visibility is soooo important to me.

    Overall you had a great month for ARCs. A few duds, but I find that more ARCs than not are duds. Perhaps I am just not great at finding the sort of books I would enjoy yo request? Who knows! Regardless, keep up the great work. :D

  3. My very first SotA I trawled through every file on my Kindle and scared myself with how many books I had forgotten I had waiting! At least now I know where all my ARCs are and when they’re due! You’ve got a few tempting covers here and I have been so good on not requesting from NetGalley this month. Maybe I’ll just have a quick look …

  4. So jealous you got Sea Witch!! I really hope you end up enjoying it. I requested a BUNCH of ARCs in May, and only read a few, so my TBR is pretty much doomed at the reading speed I have. D:

  5. I have no idea how you people survive with this many ARCs. If I reach 15 I start sobbing.

    What does “unsolicited” mean, exactly? Do people just send you stuff without asking?

    I was rejected for Sea Witch on Edelweiss too :/ Maybe I should request it on NetGalley… (I had the opposite with one book btw – rejected on NetGalley and accepted on Edelweiss.)

    1. Yeah i get a bunch sent to work and no one at work reads but me so ill take them in hopes of reading them if i have time. If not I find them good homes.

      I’m hoping June will be a good month for me to get through a lot of these. 😁

    1. it took me a bit to take part, i made a little spreadsheet this month which deifnitely helped me wrap around my graph!

      you could always just skip out on them too! anything to make it easier :)

  6. Add me to the list of Edelweiss rejections on Sea Witch! The US publisher doesn’t have it listed on NetGalley either, so I’ll just have to wait until July for that one :) Spinning Silver is so good, though!! Since you liked Uprooted you should love that one too. I’ve got Grace and Fury on my list as well, really looking forward to checking it out this summer. Congrats on your progress Lauren!

  7. Hahah oh man :D I can’t believe you actually FOUND some. Kudos on the full chart! It’s best to know everything the way it is :D and I think you managed very well! That’s loads of reviews.

    How did you get the unsolicited ones? I have like… ONE xD

    1. So I counted the ones I got from YALC because theres not really the time there to read synopsis’ and make a decision w/out people getting snappy at you.

      The others are ones sent to work, some just to the book department, others to me directly.

  8. I have the same thing going with being declined on one site and accepted on the other. I’m preapproved at Edelweiss for HarperCollins and preaproved at NetGalley for Disney. I just have to remember which is which when I request. I can’t remember the last time I got an unsolicited ARC. I get mine from Edelweiss, NetGalley or email requests from authors or publicists. Here’s my State of the Stack. Happy reading!

  9. oh wow, I like your graph! I’m waaay behind on reading my ARCs. I’ve got to catch up with reading them soon! I like that you’ve posted about the books you requested, you’re so brave!

    Great post! :D

  10. Sometimes I have problems to keep track with my ARCs and it happens that the post of two consecutive months didn’t add up! :)
    You did a great job with your reviews! I am struggling to keep up with the reading part, let’s not start with the reviews part! But I hope to do better in June!
    Also, you have mentioned a lot of great books!!!! *_*

  11. Ahh, lucky one! I requested Sea Witch recently but got denied… Hope you’ll enjoy it, I’ve heard a lot of good about that book!

    Also, good job on scheduling ahead, I’m still struggling to post my reviews on time 😅

  12. Congrats for getting your graph straightened out! I remember when I first did a graph it was such the pits! Why didn’t they teach that in school?! Hahaha anyway your reading is so good, but your reviewing is better?! It’s so good! ❤️

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.