Book Events, Book Exclusives

On writing, duologies, and witchcraft | Q+A with Laure Eve

laure eveAuthor Interview | Laure Eve
Last month I teased on my Instagram that I got to interview the breath-taking Laure Eve and how I hoped to have it all transcribed soon.

Unfortunately for you, I lost the bloody audio.

Luckily Laure is such a Queen that she agreed to re answer the questions over email for us so I can still scream about her work.

I’m actually a little sad that I did loose the audio because we had such a great conversation, but once the others go live too I can also edit in links to there so you can experience some of the magic.

Keep reading to find out more about Laure Eve, The Graces, and her future work. Continue reading “On writing, duologies, and witchcraft | Q+A with Laure Eve”

Advertisements
Book Reviews

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club, Travelling Books and Tea

Review: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
Series: Rebel of the Sands #1
Genre: Young Adult | Fantasy
Length: 358 pages
Published on 4th February 2016 by Faber & Faber
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Alwyn Hamilton: Website | Tumblr |Twitter | Goodreads
Received from Joel as part of the Travelling Books and Tea Project

Synopsis:
“Tell me that and we’ll go. Right now. Save ourselves and leave this place to burn. Tell me that’s how you want your story to go and we’ll write it straight across the sand.”

Dustwalk is an unforgiving, dead-end town. It’s not the place to be poor or orphaned or female. And yet Amani Al’Hiza must call it ‘home’.

Amani wants to escape and see the world she’s heard about in campfire stories.

Then a foreigner with no name turns up, and with him she has the chance to run.

But the desert plains are full of dangerous magic. The Sultan’s army is on the rise and Amani is soon caught at the heart of a fearless rebellion…

An epic story of swirling desert sands, love, magic and revolution.

Continue reading “Review: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton”