Book Reviews

ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand
Genre: Horror | Paranormal | Young Adult
Length: 464 pages
Published on 4th October 2018 by HarperCollins
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Claire Legrand: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
Fans of Victoria Schwab, Nova Ren Suma, and Netflix’s hit show Stranger Things will crave this frightening stand-alone contemporary teen horror novel about three girls who take on an insidious monster that preys upon young women.
Who are the Sawkill Girls?Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: Sheets by Brenna Thummler

Sheets by Brenna Thummler
Genre: Graphic Novel | Paranormal
Length: 224 pages
Published on 28th August 2018 by Lion Forge
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Brenna Thummler: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eARC recieved from publisher via NetGalley

Synopsis:
Marjorie Glatt feels like a ghost. A practical thirteen year old in charge of the family laundry business, her daily routine features unforgiving customers, unbearable P.E. classes, and the fastidious Mr. Saubertuck who is committed to destroying everything she’s worked for.
Wendell is a ghost. A boy who lost his life much too young, his daily routine features ineffective death therapy, a sheet-dependent identity, and a dangerous need to seek purpose in the forbidden human world.When their worlds collide, Marjorie is confronted by unexplainable disasters as Wendell transforms Glatt’s Laundry into his midnight playground, appearing as a mere sheet during the day. While Wendell attempts to create a new afterlife for himself, he unknowingly sabotages the life that Marjorie is struggling to maintain. Sheets illustrates the determination of a young girl to fight, even when all parts of her world seem to be conspiring against her. It proves that second chances are possible whether life feels over or life is over. But above all, it is a story of the forgiveness and unlikely friendship that can only transpire inside a haunted laundromat.

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: Sheets by Brenna Thummler”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Review: Silver & Bone by Claudia Cain

Silver & Bone by Claudia Cain
Series: Silver and Bone #1
Genre: Fantasy | Paranormal | Vampires
Length: 486 pages
Published on 31st October 2016 by Claudia Cain
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Claudia Cain: Website | Instagram | Goodreads
eCopy recieved for review from the author

Synopsis:
Jennifer Jones is trying to be a better person.
It’s not easy. She has a lot to make up for, considering that she’s an immortal blood-sucker with a history of serial killing. But at least she probably can’t get worse.And for the last seventy years, things have been going well. She’s got a job, friends she cares about, a steady relationship, and she hasn’t killed a single human.

But something dark is on the horizon. A body appears in an alley, bringing up unsettling memories. A Necromancer warns of an approaching menace, and as more and more bodies begin to appear, repeating a very familiar pattern, Jennifer finds herself being framed for murder.

Someone is out for revenge, and they’re willing to kill to get it.

You might be able to ignore your past, but you can’t outrun it, and Jennifer’s has just caught up to her.

Continue reading “Review: Silver & Bone by Claudia Cain”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Stake Sauce, Arc 1 by RoAnna Sylver

Stake Sauce by RoAnna Sylver
Series: Stake Sauce #1
Genre: Paranormal | LGBT | Vampires
Length: 193 pages
Published on 31st October 2017 by The Kraken Collective
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD
RoAnna Sylver: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
ARC 1, IN WHICH: A cute punk-rock vampire and a disabled firefighter-turned-mall-cop with a dark past join forces to battle the forces of evil.
Jude used to leap out of helicopters to rescue/protect people from terrifying infernos. Now, by day, he protects the local mall from rowdy teenagers who ride their skateboards inside. By night, he protects the the parking lot, and the rest of Portland, from undead, bloodsucking creatures of the darkness. Or would if he could find them.But he’s just about ready to give it up (living with PTSD and pain from the traumatic event that cost him a leg, a friend, and a lot more is hard enough), when something crashes into his life. And his window.It’s one of these creatures of the darkness – and he’s a lot less scary than expected. More cuddly, with dark fuzzy wings, and neon-bright hair.

His name is Pixie, and he refuses to bite anyone. Assault/murder/draining fluids isn’t punk, even if being a vampire really kind of is. He’s very hungry by now, and the much bigger, meaner, deadlier vamps kick him around on the nightly. Jude would love to find and fight some actual undead bullies. And Pixie could use some help staying… ‘alive.’ Time to make a deal.

Together they fight crime. And maybe even heal.

Of course, life still sucks when you’re a vampire who refuses to suck blood. Fortunately, there’s a really interesting new barbecue restaurant in the mall, with an intriguing new recipe. (We hear that the secret ingredient is… love. No, really.)

Continue reading “ARC Review: Stake Sauce, Arc 1 by RoAnna Sylver”