Book Reviews

Series Review: Alice & Red Queen by Christina Henry

Alice by Christina Henry
Series: The Chronicles of Alice Series
Genre: Fantasy | Horror | Adult
Length: 325 + 313 pages
Published on 28th June 2016 by Titan Books
Purchase Alice: Amazon | TBD
Purchase Red Queen: Amazon | TBD
Christina Henry: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
In a warren of crumbling buildings and desperate people called the Old City, there stands a hospital with cinderblock walls which echo with the screams of the poor souls inside. In the hospital, there is a woman. Her hair, once blonde, hangs in tangles down her back. She doesn’t remember why she’s in such a terrible place-just a tea party long ago, and long ears, and blood… Then, one night, a fire at the hospital gives the woman a chance to escape, tumbling out of the hole that imprisoned her, leaving her free to uncover the truth about what happened to her all those years ago. Only something else has escaped with her. Something dark. Something powerful. And to find the truth, she will have to track this beast to the very heart of the Old City, where the rabbit waits for his Alice.

Continue reading “Series Review: Alice & Red Queen by Christina Henry”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

ARC Comic Review: Fearscape #2 by Ryan O’Sullivan

Fearscape #2 by Ryan O’Sullivan, illustrated by Andrea Mutti, Vladimir Popov, and Deron Bennet
Series: Fearscape #2
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 27 pages
Published on 7th November 2018 by Vault Comics
Purchase: Purchase from your local comic store
Ryan O’Sullivan: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Andrea Mutti: Website | Twitter
Vladimir Popov: Twitter
Deron Bennet: Website | Twitter
eCopy received from author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:
Heroic plagiarist Henry Henry faces his first trial in the Fearscape! Within The Weeping Castle, home to The Children of Prometheus, Henry Henry encounters wondrous and fanciful creatures—including The First Fear. With courage and calm, he endures the heart of darkness, refusing the easy temptation of light. No Legs can outrun—no Mind can outwit—no Heart can outlove our hero.

Continue reading “ARC Comic Review: Fearscape #2 by Ryan O’Sullivan”

Book Reviews, Received for Review, Spooks and Tea

Anthology Review: New Fears 2 edited by Mark Morris

New Fears 2: More New Horror Stories by Masters of the Macabre edited by Mark Morris
Series: New Fears #2
Genre: Horror | Short Stories
Length: 383 pages
Published on 18th September 2018 by Titan Books
Purchase: Amazon
Mark Morris: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Early copy received from publishers in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:
An electrifying anthology of new horror stories by award-winning masters of the genre.

The horror genre’s greatest living practitioners drag our darkest fears kicking and screaming into the light in this second collection of brand-new tales of terror. Numinous, surreal and gut wrenching, New Fears II is a vibrant collection showcasing the very best fiction modern horror has to offer.

Continue reading “Anthology Review: New Fears 2 edited by Mark Morris”

Blogoween, Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix

We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix
Genre: Horror | Adult
Length: 336 pages
Published on 18th September 2018 by Quirk Books
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Grady Hendrix: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
ARC received in exchanged for an honest review

Synopsis:
A new novel of supernatural horror (and pop culture) from the author of Horrorstor, My Best Friend’s Exorcism, and Paperbacks from Hell.
 

In the 1990s, heavy metal band Dürt Würk was poised for breakout success — but then lead singer Terry Hunt embarked on a solo career and rocketed to stardom as Koffin, leaving his fellow bandmates to rot in rural Pennsylvania. 

Two decades later, former guitarist Kris Pulaski works as the night manager of a Best Western – she’s tired, broke, and unhappy. Everything changes when she discovers a shocking secret from her heavy metal past: Turns out that Terry’s meteoric rise to success may have come at the price of Kris’s very soul.This revelation prompts Kris to hit the road, reunite with the rest of her bandmates, and confront the man who ruined her life. It’s a journey that will take her from the Pennsylvania rust belt to a Satanic rehab center and finally to a Las Vegas music festival that’s darker than any Mordor Tolkien could imagine. A furious power ballad about never giving up, even in the face of overwhelming odds, We Sold Our Souls is an epic journey into the heart of a conspiracy-crazed, paranoid country that seems to have lost its very soul…where only a girl with a guitar can save us all.

Continue reading “ARC Review: We Sold Our Souls by Grady Hendrix”

Book Reviews

ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand
Genre: Horror | Paranormal | Young Adult
Length: 464 pages
Published on 4th October 2018 by HarperCollins
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Claire Legrand: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
Fans of Victoria Schwab, Nova Ren Suma, and Netflix’s hit show Stranger Things will crave this frightening stand-alone contemporary teen horror novel about three girls who take on an insidious monster that preys upon young women.
Who are the Sawkill Girls?Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken—or maybe everyone else is.Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand”

Book Exclusives

Cover Reveal: Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich

It has been a long time since I’ve taken part in a cover reveal when Jenn reached out asking if myself and some other bloggers would like to help reveal the cover for Dawn Kurtagich’s new book – Teeth in the Mist – I jumped at the chance.

I’ve read The Dead House by Dawn which I loved and recommend at work whenever possible so I’m super excited to pick this book up too!

Other books by her include: The Creeper Man (And the Trees Crept In if you’re in the US) and the Dead House companion novella: The Naida Tapes.
Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

ARC Comic Review: Fearscape #1 by Ryan O’Sullivan

Fearscape #1 by Ryan O’Sullivan, illustrated by Andrea Mutti, Vladimir Popov, and Deron Bennet
Series: Fearscape #1
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 26 pages
Published on 26th September 2018 by Vault Comics
Purchase: Purchase from your local comic store
Ryan O’Sullivan: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Andrea Mutti: Website | Twitter
Vladimir Popov: Twitter
Deron Bennet: Website | Twitter
eCopy recieved from the author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:
From Ryan O’Sullivan (Void Trip), Andrea Mutti, Vladimir Popov, and Deron Bennet comes FEARSCAPE. The Fearscape is a world beyond our own, populated by the manifestations of our greatest fears. Once per generation, The Muse travels to Earth, discovers our greatest Storyteller, and takes them with her to the Fearscape to battle these fear-creatures on our behalf. All has been well for eons, until The Muse encounters Henry Henry—a plagiarist with delusions of literary grandeur. Mistaking him for our greatest Storyteller, she ushers him into the Fearscape. A fake man in a fake land…this is the story of the wrong person answering the call to adventure, and the doom that followed.

Continue reading “ARC Comic Review: Fearscape #1 by Ryan O’Sullivan”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks

Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks and illustrated by Gabo
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 112 pages
Published on 17th April 2018 by Oni Press
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Kyle Starks: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Gabo: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Publisher via NetGalley

Synopsis:
Air Bud meets The Walking Dead!
From the tabletop smash hit comes this new comic series starring your favorite characters from Plaid Hat Games’ DEAD OF WINTER, written by Kyle Starks (the Eisner Award-nominated Sexcastle), and illustrated by Gabo (The Life After).

In the pantheon of superheroes, none are more loveable and loyal than everyone’s favorite good ol’ dog, Sparky. Surviving in the wintery apocalypse of the undead, this former TV show stunt dog turned zombie killing machine just wants to make friends and be a good boy. As his fellow survivors scavenge for supplies in the frigid wasteland, will Sparky be able to protect his companions from threats both undead and otherwise? Collects issues #1-4 from the “Good Good Dog” storyline from DEAD OF WINTER!

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: Dead of Winter: Good Good Dog by Kyle Starks”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club, Spooks and Tea

Review: The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
Series: The Dead House #1
Genre: Horror | Young Adult
Length: 448 pages
Published on 10th March 2016 by Orion Children’s Books
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Dawn Kurtagich: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WHSmith with a gift card

Synopsis:
Twenty-five years ago, Elmbridge High School burned down. The blaze killed three and injured twenty, and one pupil, Carly Johnson, disappeared. For two decades, little was revealed about what became known as the Johnson Incident. Until now. A diary has been found in the ruins of the school. In this diary, Kaitlyn Johnson, Carly’s twin, tells of the strange and disturbing sequence of events leading to the incident. But Kaitlyn doesn’t exist. She never has. Chilling, creepy and compelling, THE DEAD HOUSE is one of those very special books that finds all the dark places in your imagination, and haunts you long after you’ve finished reading.

Continue reading “Review: The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich”