Book Exclusives

[cancelled] Dark Dominions Fantasy Antholoy | Supporting Gender Equality #Ad

Dark Dominions Banner 2[cancelled] Dark Dominions Fantasy Antholoy | Supporting Gender Equality

Please note the Kickstarter has currently been cancelled. I was excited about this project but have been told it is not going forward; sorry about that. Hopefully they’ll release some information on whether they intend to go forward at a later date.

Earlier this month the lovely people at WriterWriterMorgan Wright and David Collins – reached out asking if I’d like to feature their upcoming Kickstarter on my blog to help spread the word.

As I love fantasy books and anthologies are a great way to be introduced to a lot of new authors I knew I’d be saying yes to helping with promotion. I’ll also get to review a copy once its published.

The Kickstarter will launch in a few days – 1st March – and run until 2nd April and will feature at least 16 stories! It’ll be written by female and male authors equally too. Keep reading to find out more detailed information. Update: Kickstarter has been cancelled due to unexpected priorities Continue reading “[cancelled] Dark Dominions Fantasy Antholoy | Supporting Gender Equality #Ad”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Received for Review, Spooks and Tea

Anthology Review: New Fears 2 edited by Mark Morris

New Fears 2: More New Horror Stories by Masters of the Macabre edited by Mark Morris
Series: New Fears #2
Genre: Horror | Short Stories
Length: 383 pages
Published on 18th September 2018 by Titan Books
Purchase: Amazon
Mark Morris: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Early copy received from publishers in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:
An electrifying anthology of new horror stories by award-winning masters of the genre.

The horror genre’s greatest living practitioners drag our darkest fears kicking and screaming into the light in this second collection of brand-new tales of terror. Numinous, surreal and gut wrenching, New Fears II is a vibrant collection showcasing the very best fiction modern horror has to offer.

Continue reading “Anthology Review: New Fears 2 edited by Mark Morris”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: A Thousand Beginnings and Endings by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings edited by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman
Genre: Fantasy | Short Stories | Young Adult
Length: 336 pages
Published on 26th June 2018 by HarperCollins
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Ellen Oh: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Elsie Chapman: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
ARC recieved from Harper in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis:
Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.
Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

Continue reading “ARC Review: A Thousand Beginnings and Endings by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman”

Book Reviews

Anthology Review: My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins

My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins
Genre: Holidays | Young Adult
Length: 355 pages
Published on 9th October by Pan MacMillan
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Stephanie Perkins: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Copy won from a Twitter giveaway

Synopsis:
If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love with My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by twelve bestselling young adult writers, edited by international bestselling author Stephanie Perkins. Whether you enjoy celebrating Christmas or Hanukkah, Winter Solstice or New Year’s there’s something here for everyone. So curl up by the fireplace and get cozy. You have twelve reasons this season to stay indoors and fall in love.

Continue reading “Anthology Review: My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins”

Book Reviews

Anthology Review: Let It Snow by Red Tash

Let it Snow! edited by Red Tash
Series: N/A
Genre: Holidays | Short Stories
Length: 170 pages
Published on 1st November 2012 by Red Tash Books
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | WHSmith
Red Tash: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
*2013 eFestival of Words Best Anthology Finalist*

Happy holidays and welcome to our quaint little holiday collection of zombies, crazies, fairies and treasure-hunters (and more)!It’s the end of the year as we know it, and you’ll be feeling fine as you peruse this collection of “season’s readings.”

Let It Snow! is packed to the rafters with thoughtful gifts for you to unwrap from the comfort of your cozy reading chair. After all, there’s snowplace like home for the holidays! Are you ready to branch out beyond the tree’d and true? Stay inside and read and you’ll be saying “Let It Snow!”

Let It Snow!
Season’s Readings for a Super-Cool Yule!
Ten eclectic stories in off-beat holiday settings

A Laurents County Landfill Christmas, by Red Tash
Silent Night, by Jack Wallen
Crazed in Christmas City, by Jessica McHugh
A Manlove & Kickerdick Xmess, by Axel Howerton
The Snow Wolf’s Gift, by Tim Tash
A Serial Killer Christmas, by Mercedes Yardley
Old Mexia Christmas Brew, by Claudia Lefeve
The Pratty Who Saved Chrissmuss, by Marian Allen
Believe, by Connie Roberts-Huth
Hau’oli Hanukkah by T. Lee Harris

Continue reading “Anthology Review: Let It Snow by Red Tash”