Challenges, State of the ARC, Wrap Up

State of the ARC | Oh no, what did I do?

State-of-the-ARC
State of the ARC |
Oh no, what did I do?

Every month I see Ava’s posts go live and every month I’m like y’know what I can do this.

I finally did last month and I’m back at it again.
Continue reading “State of the ARC | Oh no, what did I do?”

Advertisements
Books and Tea Book Club

Books and Tea Book Club | June Read-along

batthing

Books and Tea Book Club | June Read-along
Back at it again with the update on next months read-along? You bet I am. If you want a full run down on what my Book Club has to offer please visit this post. Yes, I finally created a new one!

Want to know whats happening within the Book Club in June? Keep reading for an update.
Continue reading “Books and Tea Book Club | June Read-along”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Review: Silver & Bone by Claudia Cain

Silver & Bone by Claudia Cain
Series: Silver and Bone #1
Genre: Fantasy | Paranormal | Vampires
Length: 486 pages
Published on 31st October 2016 by Claudia Cain
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Claudia Cain: Website | Instagram | Goodreads
eCopy recieved for review from the author

Synopsis:
Jennifer Jones is trying to be a better person.
It’s not easy. She has a lot to make up for, considering that she’s an immortal blood-sucker with a history of serial killing. But at least she probably can’t get worse.And for the last seventy years, things have been going well. She’s got a job, friends she cares about, a steady relationship, and she hasn’t killed a single human.

But something dark is on the horizon. A body appears in an alley, bringing up unsettling memories. A Necromancer warns of an approaching menace, and as more and more bodies begin to appear, repeating a very familiar pattern, Jennifer finds herself being framed for murder.

Someone is out for revenge, and they’re willing to kill to get it.

You might be able to ignore your past, but you can’t outrun it, and Jennifer’s has just caught up to her.

Continue reading “Review: Silver & Bone by Claudia Cain”

Books and Tea Book Club, Meet the Members

Books and Tea: Meet the Members | Tecsie

books and tea meet hte membner
Books and Tea |
Meet the Members

I run an online book club called Books and Tea and I love it dearly. I mean obviously I do or I wouldn’t still be running it.

I also wouldn’t be able to run it without the members as their activity within the club and their love for it too keeps it active and running smoothly.

I’m big on supporting the members and showing my appreciation for them and what better way to do so than to have guest posts from them – and thats what this feature will be.

For now I’m posting one every two weeks and I’ve provided the members with 4 open questions to answer and then a space to talk about anything they’d like – something they’re a fan of, something they do outside of the book club, or something they’re passionate about.
Continue reading “Books and Tea: Meet the Members | Tecsie”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Poetry Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace

The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace
Series: Women are Some Kind of Magic #2
Genre: Poetry | Feminism
Length: 208 pages
Published on 6th March 2018 by Andrews McMeel Poetry
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Amanda Lovelace: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
2016 Goodreads Choice Award-winning poet Amanda Lovelace returns in the witch doesn’t burn in this one — the bold second book in her “women are some kind of magic” series.

The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now—indestructible. These moving, relatable poems encourage resilience and embolden women to take control of their own stories. Enemies try to judge, oppress, and marginalize her, but the witch doesn’t burn in this one.

Continue reading “ARC Poetry Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn In This One by Amanda Lovelace”

Haul Posts

Rewind: Haul Post (4)

rewind

So for those of you who don’t know prior to this blog I used to blog under the same name on blogger (it now redirects here so, sorry, but you can’t check it out) from 2011.

I thought it would be interesting to go back and view my first ever haul posts to see what books I got and whether or not I ever read them.

Previous haul rewinds: one | two | three

Continue reading “Rewind: Haul Post (4)”

Book Reviews, Received for Review

Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick
Series: Blade Runner #1
Science Fiction | Adult
Length: 193 pages
Published in 2017 by Gollancz
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Philip K. Dick: Goodreads
Recieved for review from Publisher

Synopsis:
World War Terminus Had left the Earth devastated. Through its ruins, bounty hunter Rick Deckard stalked, in search of the renegade replicants who were his prey. When he wasn’t ‘retiring’ them with his laser weapon, he dreamed of owning a live animal – the ultimate status symbol in a world all but bereft of animal life. Then Rick got his chance: the assignment to kill Nexus-6 targets, for a huge reward. But in Deckard’s world things were never that simple, and his assignment quickly turned into a nightmare kaleidoscope of subterfuge and deceit – and the threat of death for the hunter rather than the hunted…

Continue reading “Book Review: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick”

Discussion

YALC | My potential TBR

yalc tbr.jpg

I put a poll up on twitter regarding what post y’all wanted to see first and this won.

As you can see I titled it “potential TBR” and I say this due to the fact I’ve thrown together all the books I own that I could take to be signed but I’m not 100% sold on some of them as they may not be my cuppa tea. Those I’m not completely sure on I’ll only take if I have the bag room, I don’t wanna do what I did last year and completely ruin my back.

Continue reading “YALC | My potential TBR”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Challenges, State of the ARC, Wrap Up

State of the ARC | In which I break down

State-of-the-ARC
State of the ARC |
In which I drown in ARCs

Every month I see Ava’s posts go live and every month I’m like y’know what I can do this. I can track my progress and feel happy. But every month I don’t. Untill now.

I am finally here to see how bad things are.
Continue reading “State of the ARC | In which I break down”