Books and Tea Book Club, Updates

Books and Tea Book Club | Chat Overview

batthing

Hey book readers,
I’m just making this post to give a more informative run down on my book club – Books and Tea. I’m sure by now you’ve seen the monthly announcements of the read-alongs or maybe not. But if so, tada! I’m doing a big update post on whats what in the world of Discord and my book club.Anyone who is 18 or older is welcome to join, just click here.
Continue reading “Books and Tea Book Club | Chat Overview”
Advertisements
Books and Tea Book Club

Books and Tea Book Club | February Read-alongs

batthing

Books and Tea Book Club| February Read-along
Seeing as though last months post went down well I guess this will become a monthly check in. I have the original post with a huge run down on what we offer but it is out of date. I’ll be creating a 2018 one …soon.

January’s read-alongs went really well and I successfully took part in the Comet in Moominland one! Want to see what we’re reading for February? Keep reading this post!
Continue reading “Books and Tea Book Club | February Read-alongs”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club, Spooks and Tea

Review: The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich

The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
Series: The Dead House #1
Genre: Horror | Young Adult
Length: 448 pages
Published on 10th March 2016 by Orion Children’s Books
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Dawn Kurtagich: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WHSmith with a gift card

Synopsis:
Twenty-five years ago, Elmbridge High School burned down. The blaze killed three and injured twenty, and one pupil, Carly Johnson, disappeared. For two decades, little was revealed about what became known as the Johnson Incident. Until now. A diary has been found in the ruins of the school. In this diary, Kaitlyn Johnson, Carly’s twin, tells of the strange and disturbing sequence of events leading to the incident. But Kaitlyn doesn’t exist. She never has. Chilling, creepy and compelling, THE DEAD HOUSE is one of those very special books that finds all the dark places in your imagination, and haunts you long after you’ve finished reading.

Continue reading “Review: The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club

Review: Ice Massacre by Tiana Warner

Ice Massacre by Tiana Warner
Series: Mermaids of Eriana Kwai #1
Genre: Fantasy | Young Adult | LGBT
Length: 375 pages
Published on 18th September 2014 by Rogue Cannon Publishing
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones
Tiana Warner: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Christmas present from my GF, Allie

Synopsis:
A mermaid’s supernatural beauty serves one purpose: to lure a sailor to his death.

The Massacre is supposed to bring peace to Eriana Kwai. Every year, the island sends its warriors to battle these hostile sea demons. Every year, the warriors fail to return. Desperate for survival, the island must decide on a new strategy. Now, the fate of Eriana Kwai lies in the hands of twenty battle-trained girls and their resistance to a mermaid’s allure.

Eighteen-year-old Meela has already lost her brother to the Massacre, and she has lived with a secret that’s haunted her since childhood. For any hope of survival, she must overcome the demons of her past and become a ruthless mermaid killer.

For the first time, Eriana Kwai’s Massacre warriors are female, and Meela must fight for her people’s freedom on the Pacific Ocean’s deadliest battleground.

Continue reading “Review: Ice Massacre by Tiana Warner”

Books and Tea Book Club

Books and Tea Book Club | January Read-alongs

batthing

Books and Tea Book Club | January Read-along
I actually haven’t advertised the read-alongs we host on Books and Tea here in detail before. I have the original post with a huge run down on what we offer but aside from that? Not much.

So here goes, there are 3 read-alongs starting in January and I’m excited!
Continue reading “Books and Tea Book Club | January Read-alongs”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club, Spooks and Tea

Review: Ten by Gretchen McNeil

Ten by Gretchen McNeil
Series: N/A
Genre: Mystery | Horror | Young Adult
Length: 320 pages
Published on 17th September 2013 by Balzer and Bray
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD
Gretchen McNeil: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Copy won from a giveaway

Synopsis:
From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pike’s Chain Letter and Lois Duncan’s I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, there’s no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

Continue reading “Review: Ten by Gretchen McNeil”

Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club, Travelling Books and Tea

Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry

The Giver by Lois Lowry
Series: The Giver #1
Genre: Science Fiction | Dystopia
Length: 240 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Lois Lowry: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
I borrowed a copy as part of the Travelling Book Project

Synopsis:
“I have great honor,” The Giver said. “So will you. But you will find that is not the same as power.”

Life in the community where Jonas lives is idyllic. Designated birthmothers produce newchildren, who are assigned to appropriate family units: one male, one female, to each. Citizens are assigned their partners and their jobs. No one thinks to ask questions. Everyone obeys. The community is a world without conflict, inequality, divorce, unemployment injustice…or choice.

Everyone is the same.

Except Jonas.

At the Ceremony of Twelve, the community’s twelve-year-olds eagerly accept their predetermined Life Assignments. But Jonas is chosen for something special. He begins instruction in his life’s work with a mysterious old man known only as The Giver. Gradually Jonas learns that power lies in feelings. But when his own power is put to the test—when he must try to save someone he loves—he may not be ready. Is it too soon? Or too late?

Continue reading “Review: The Giver by Lois Lowry”

Books and Tea Book Club, Spooks and Tea

#SpooksandTea: Ritual Tasks

Twitter Thread horror image logo

Spooks and Tea: Ritual Tasks
For anyone who isn’t aware I run a book club and for October we did a horror genre read-a-thon!

One of the chats we have is called Ritual Tasks which Coven leader Emmie created so members can choose to complete the rituals if they please.
Continue reading “#SpooksandTea: Ritual Tasks”

Books and Tea Book Club, Spooks and Tea

#SpooksandTea: Grimoire Notes

Twitter Thread horror image logo

Spooks and Tea: Grimoire Notes
For anyone who isn’t aware I run a book club and for October we’re doing a horror genre read-a-thon!

One of the chats we have is called Grimoire Notes which is to encourage people to talk about the books they’ve finished for the read-a-thon to help grow peoples TBR piles.
Continue reading “#SpooksandTea: Grimoire Notes”