Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Motor Crush, Vol 1 by Brenden Fletcher

Motor Crush, Vol. 1 by Brenden Fletcher and Cameron Stewart and illustrated by Babs Tarr
Series: Motor Crush #1
Genre: Science Fiction | Graphic Novel
Length: 136 pages
Published on 20th June 2017 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Brenden Fletcher: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Cameron Stewart: Twitter | Goodreads
Babs Tarr: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
The team behind the critically-acclaimed revamp of Batgirl returns with an exciting sci-fi action-adventure series!
By day, Domino Swift competes for fame & fortune in a worldwide motorcycle racing league. By night, she cracks heads of rival gangs in brutal bike wars to gain possession of a rare, valuable contraband: an engine-boosting “machine narcotic” known as Crush.
Collecting: Motor Crush 1-5

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Motor Crush, Vol 1 by Brenden Fletcher”

Advertisements
Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn

No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn and illustrated by Jorge Corona
Genre: Graphic Novel | LGBT | Contemporary
Length: 184 pages
Published on 12th June 2018 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Jacob Semahn: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Jorge Corona: Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads
eCopy received from Edelweiss

Synopsis:
Her social media, strong. Her variety show segments, a hit. Nash Huang is at the top of her game. But when the iRis Shutter contact lens hits the market, Nash’s life is personally invaded. The latest leap forward in “technological progress,” these contacts not only play video or augment reality… but also record with the blink of an eye. Fighting to keep her life together after a leaked sex tape goes viral, a clingy super fan is the last thing on Nash’s mind… but that’s exactly when the bodies pile up and the terror begins.
Collects issues 1 through 6.

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: No. 1 with a Bullet by Jacob Semahn”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

ARC Graphic Novel Review: Void Trip by Ryan O’Sullivan

Void Trip by Ryan O’Sullivan and illustrated by Plaid Klaus
Series: Void Trip #1-5
Genre: Science Fiction | Graphic Novel
Length: 144 pages
Published on 5th June 2018 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Ryan O’Sullivan: Twitter | Goodreads
Plaid Klaus: Twitter | Goodreads
Digital Review Copy received from Edelweiss for review

Synopsis:
From writer RYAN O’SULLIVAN (Turncoat, The Evil Within, Warhammer 40,000) and illustrator PLAID KLAUS (Turncoat) comes the story of Ana and Gabe, the last two humans left alive in the galaxy. They’re low on fuel, they’re low on food, and they’re low on psychedelic space froot, but they’re still determined to make it to the promised land: hippy-paradise super-planet Euphoria. This is the story of their journey, the friends and enemies they made along the way, and how the universe responded to those who dared to live freely within it.
Collects issues 1 through 5.

Continue reading “ARC Graphic Novel Review: Void Trip by Ryan O’Sullivan”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas

Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas, Erick Freitas, and illustrated by Daniel Irizarri
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Length: 80 pages
Published on 28th November 2017 by
Lion Forge Comics

Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Ulises Farinas: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Erick Freitas: Twitter | Goodreads
Review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
A lushly rendered supernatural fantasy that follows two girls and their mother who find themselves in the middle of a vast, supernatural exodus. On their journey Cloudia is bestowed the powers of hundreds of different gods, but even those don’t help her come to terms with the death of her father.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Cloudia and Rex by Ulises Farinas”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: POS by Pierre Paquet

POS by Pierre Paquet
Series: NA
Genre: Nonfiction | Graphic Novel
Length: 256 pages
Published on 21st November 2017 by Lion Forge Comics
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones
Pierre Paquet: Goodreads
An eARC was provided thanks to NetGalley

Synopsis:
A young man struggles to build a publishing company, find love, and discover who he really is, with his one true trusted companion being the dog who truly seems to understand him. In the end, he realizes that for far too long he has been a self-absorbed piece of sh*t.nA touching autobiographical story by Swiss BD publisher Pierre Paquet, the spiritual sequel to Paquet’s Eisner-nominated A Glance Backward, which recounted his experience dealing with the death of his father at age 11.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: POS by Pierre Paquet”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green

Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green
Series: N/A
Genre: Graphic Novel | Nonfiction
Length: 509 pages
Published on 3rd October 2017 by Jonathan Cape
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Katie Green: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Digital review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
Like most kids, Katie was a picky eater. She’d sit at the table in silent protest, hide uneaten toast in her bedroom, listen to parental threats that she’d have to eat it for breakfast.

But in any life a set of circumstance can collide, and normal behavior might soon shade into something sinister, something deadly.

Lighter Than My Shadow is a hand-drawn story of struggle and recovery, a trip into the black heart of a taboo illness, an exposure of those who are so weak as to prey on the vulnerable, and an inspiration to anybody who believes in the human power to endure towards happiness.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Paper Girls, Vol 1 by Brian K. Vaughan

Paper Girls, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan and illustrated by Cliff Chiang and Matthew Wilson
Series: Paper Girls #1
Genre: Graphic Novel | Science Fiction
Length: 144 pages
Published on 5th April 2016 by Image Comics
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Brian K. Vaughan: Goodreads
Cliff Chiang: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Matthew Wilson: Goodreads
Purchased for myself from Waterstones

Synopsis:
In the early hours after Halloween of 1988, four 12-year-old newspaper delivery girls uncover the most important story of all time. Suburban drama and otherworldly mysteries collide in this smash-hit series about nostalgia, first jobs, and the last days of childhood.
Collects Paper Girls #1-5.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Paper Girls, Vol 1 by Brian K. Vaughan”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: The Little Red Wolf by Amélie Fléchais

The Little Red Wolf by Amélie Fléchais
Series: N/A
Genre: Graphic Novel | Fantasy
Length: 80 pages
Published on 3rd October 2017 by Diamond Book Distributors
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Waterstones | WHSmith
Amélie Fléchais: Website | Goodreads
Digital review copy received from NetGalley

Synopsis:
Lose yourself in in the dark forests of Amelie Flechais’ spectacular artwork. A young wolf, on a journey to bring his grandmother a rabbit, is charmed by the nice little girl who offers to help him… but nice is not the same as good. A haunting fairy tale for children and adults alike.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: The Little Red Wolf by Amélie Fléchais”

Book Reviews, Graphic Novel, Received for Review

Graphic Novel Review: Taproot by Keezy Young

Taproot by Keezy Young
Series: Standalone?
Genre: Graphic Novel | Fantasy | LGBT
Length: 127 pages
Published on 26th September 2017 by Lion Forge
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD | Waterstones | WHSmith
Keezy Young: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Review copy received via NetGalley

Synopsis:
Blue is having a hard time moving on. He’s in love with his best friend. He’s also dead. Luckily, Hamal can see ghosts, leaving Blue free to haunt him to his heart’s content. But something eerie is happening in town, leaving the local afterlife unsettled, and when Blue realizes Hamal’s strange ability may be putting him in danger, Blue has to find a way to protect him, even if it means… leaving him.

Continue reading “Graphic Novel Review: Taproot by Keezy Young”