Book Reviews, Received for Review

ARC Review: Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb

Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb
Series: Lucid #1
Genre: Paranormal | Romance | Young Adult
Length: 272 pages
Published on 23rd April 2019 by Lakewater Press
Purchase*: Amazon | Wordery | Blackwells
*these are affiliate links
Kristy Fairlamb: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Received for free from the author in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis: A Terrifying Power. A Horrifying Curse.

Lucy Piper lives a lonely existence on the precipice between life and death. She possesses the horrifying ability to resurrect real-life tragic events in her nightmares, reliving over and over, as if she were there, the last few moments before the victim takes their final breath. Car accidents, drownings, plane crashes – Lucy has seen it all. No one understands what it’s like living death by night and fearing sleep by day.

When Tyler Sims and his family move to town to escape past traumas, Lucy is drawn to him. The two of them are linked through their dreams, and with Tyler’s trust and friendship, hope for a brighter future returns to Lucy’s world. But Tyler’s presence awakens something else in Lucy, and with this new knowledge she will be forced to make impossible decisions. Decisions that will change history, and the future.

Chilling, haunting and compelling, this novel is the first in a two-part series for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Hidden Memory of Objects that will leave you breathless for days.

Thanks to another blogger I was put in contact with Kristy and had the chance to receive an early ecopy of Lucid in hopes of me getting it read and reviewed in time for launch.

As you can see by the month lateness in this, I failed terribly.

So far this year I’ve really struggled connecting with any ebook. So my lateness is nothing to do with Kristy’s writing and all to do with my giant physical TBR staring at me and making me feel terrible.

Anyhow to the book we go.

Lucid definitely surprised me.

We follow Lucy who has a supernatural gift, or curse depending on how you view it, where she relives real life tragic deaths in her dreams. Nightmares would perhaps be a better word.

Sometimes she can end up having the same vivid death dreams for a few nights on the run, you can only imagine the toll this would take on anybody.

Lucy does her best to have a fairly normal life and I really enjoyed her friendship group. And the struggle she has to face as they don’t believe in her nightmares.

Even though they struggle to support Lucy through that, they are actually a very good friend group. I can honestly say that it made me so happy to read a book where there was no major friendship fallouts.

But things get swept up and a little hectic when she sees a bystander (Tyler) from one of her dreams in real life. This has never happened before, and to make things weirder does he perhaps recognise her too?

As you can see from this little premise the book has a strong story to tell.

However, I kind of wanted more. I expected a darker tale.

When I sat the book surprised me, I mean it surprised me how romance heavy this was.

Whilst the last quarter is definitely a focus on her ability and learning to handle the possibilities better.

There was a whole middle bit that when Lucy and Tyler met it kind of switched up to a more Slice of Life read. I really wasn’t expecting this.

I’m not a big romance reader, and whilst this is more of journey of the two getting to know each other and being an awesome and supportive couple. It just isn’t what I’d usually read.

I was invested in them for sure and I hope for the best for them.

But that area of the story just wasn’t for me.

Lucy’s dreamers evolved throughout the story, and provide a very game-changing life for her and those she’s dreaming about.

And that’s what I was invested in. What I kept reading for.

I really must congratulate Kristy though because I shed a tear or two a few times in this book because the relationship was so precious and the ending was something else.

I’d definitely have to wait for the synopsis of book two before I make the decision to continue. I really hope for further exploring of Lucy’s powers, Tyler’s kind of powers, and what this means for their futures.

If you’re a big fan of slice of life with a little supernatural this is the story for you, and at under 300 pages its a quick read that I’m sure you’ll love.

3.5 stars / 5 stars
If you enjoyed this post consider supporting Northern Plunder
PATREON | Ko-fi | Twitter | Book Club | Blogs & Tea | RedBubble
Advertisements

12 thoughts on “ARC Review: Lucid by Kristy Fairlamb”

  1. dang that cover is so visually striking. and the synopsis sounds fascinating, though I remember not being able to sleep while / after reading Mara Dyer (partly because I binged the trilogy, partly because it was creepy and I have a very low threshold for paranormal πŸ˜…).

    when it comes to reviews I definitely think it’s always better late than never, especially since after a month you’ve come up with this thoughtful review! I’m definitely glad to know before starting that it’s romance-heavy; I do enjoy slice of life and fantasy / supernatural / paranormal so it’s going on my maybe list πŸ“š

  2. That synopsis sounds intriguing. This was a great review and at least you read the book to review now. I haven’t read Mara Dyer but I can understand the comparison from the synopses of both. Also good to know that it’s romance heavy.

  3. I am definitely the opposite to you, I just pretend I don’t notice my physical TBR and I keep reading ebooks! Plus, I love a romance! It’s a shame it wasn’t quite for you though.

  4. From the way the book seems, I would think it would be darker as well. I would literally want it to be dark. Great review but I will probably pass on this.

  5. I’m right in that slump with you! May started off super strong for me but now I’m picking up books and putting them back down again like no one’s business.

    This sounds interesting but shame that it was just too romance heavy for you!

  6. The synopsis of this book sounds so promising and interesting, and it is a shame that the powers don’t appear to be as big of a focus for the book. I also am not a person that reads a lot of romance but do enjoy romantic subplubs to the main storyline because I am all about the chafracter’s growth and enjoy seeing things develop. But it’s sad when the romance kind of overtakes everything, which it sounds like it did a little hear. Great review, Lauren!

Leave a Reply to Kaleena @ Reader Voracious Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.