Book Reviews, Graphic Novel

Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Genre: Horror | Graphic Novel
Length: 208 pages
Published on 1st July 2014 by Faber and Faber
Purchase: Amazon | TBD
Emily Carroll: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Purchased for myself from WhSmith

Synopsis: A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman
‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’
Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.
These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.
Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

Through the Woods came recommended to me by Cat so of course once a copy showed up at work I purchased it.

All I knew going in is that is was dark and horror related which you know is my aesthetic.

I love graphic novels and whilst this is definitely horror its not super scary and whilst it is bloody and dark its also kinda cute! I know it doesn’t make sense but it is ok.

The five dark stories are all very different plot wise and utilize the main colour palette (red, white, and black) so well.


Its been a while so I’m not sure of the title of each of the stories but there is one about a teeth monster that takes on peoples forms and I LOVED IT. It was so spooky and well thought out.I’m 100% into this book as a whole and I’d love to see Emily create more pieces of horror because I’m a fan.

4 stars / 5 stars
If you enjoyed this post consider supporting Northern Plunder
Ko-fi | Twitter | Book Club | RedBubble
Advertisements

24 thoughts on “Graphic Novel Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll”

  1. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed this one! It’s one of those graphic novels I always think of when debating buying a new one (though it’s been a loooong time since I’ve read any), so I’m surprised I’ve not gotten to it yet!

  2. I think I’ve seen this book before and I was like “That seems fun!” but I didn’t realise it was a horror book so now I’m like… nope! Haha ;-)

    I’m really glad you enjoyed it, though! I really want to start reading graphic novels. :)

    1. Yup! It was great indeed (I also bought it at work so i got a bit of discount).
      no not that i know of unfortuantely.
      i always find out about free comic book day after its happened and im like grr i want some

  3. I haven’t heard of this one before and while I don’t love love the art personally, I adore the idea of a horror, Grimms inspired graphic anthology. Might see if my library has a copy.

  4. I haven’t read a graphic novel (comics are more my thing), but this one looks incredibly dark! The illustrations look creeptastic, which is why I don’t think this would work for me! I don’t normally read a lot of scary, nightmare-inducing stories, lol.

    L @ Do You Dog-ear?

    1. i prefer GN because they’re cheaper in the long run / i’m less likely to miss an issue with them being more easily available for me. which is sad but hey what can u do when ur closest comic store is over an hour away.

  5. Ahaha I love how you describe it as bloody and dark but at the same time cute as well. I am so curious to see how the graphic novel balances those out. But it sounds like it was a really good read!!

  6. I’ve seen this cover around a few times but hadn’t taken a good look at it, but I love all things horror and graphic novels especially. I love cute spooky things, even though it’s kind of odd mixing the two. That art looks incredible though and I’m glad that you enjoyed it. I’ll add it to my TBR, thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s