Book Reviews, Books and Tea Book Club, Spooks and Tea

Review: Ten by Gretchen McNeil

Ten by Gretchen McNeil
Series: N/A
Genre: Mystery | Horror | Young Adult
Length: 320 pages
Published on 17th September 2013 by Balzer and Bray
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | TBD
Gretchen McNeil: Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Copy won from a giveaway

Synopsis:
From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pike’s Chain Letter and Lois Duncan’s I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, there’s no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?

I remember pretty vividly when this came out. I mean it was so close to my birthday which helped.

I also remember all the hype surrounding it too. Pretty much all the blogs I followed back then read it and loved it.

So I just needed a copy.

Unfortunately it took a year or so till I won a copy I believe and then I just kind of forgot about it until 2016.

And oh boy. Am I glad I didn’t rush to it.

I shall have to first preface this with a I didn’t even realise it was a retelling of an Agatha Christie novel as well, I’ve not read any of hers. Nor do I know if the things I’m going to complain about are because they’re based on that or not.

Before we get to the negatives I will say this book has good pacing and tied things together nicely, I even commented this on page 238 on my Goodreads update.

The tension was pretty good too.

However, on page 180 I complained about using lack of communication as a plot device. I don’t even remember this happening because of the foul taste the book left in my mouth, so I can’t even pin point how this was “utilised” but it was according to past me and I’m sad at re-realising this.

The main big kicker that seriously ruined my enjoyment, and therefor rating, of the book is the portrayal of mental health.

If you don’t want spoilers now would be a good time to look away.

The key selling point of the murders plan all revolves around one character, who is bipolar, medication being stolen. The killers plan completely relies on her to be unstable, to cause a scene, to perhaps do even worse things. Its really gross. It made me feel a bit lot sick.

I’m sure if I had plucked up the courage a year ago to write this review I could’ve been a lot more specific, however I was just angry and couldn’t form anything readable.

But since this book now has a movie coming? Yeah, I’m gonna at least voice my concern even if its not specific.

2 stars / 5 stars
Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Review: Ten by Gretchen McNeil”

  1. I’ve never heard of this novel. Lack of communication is irritating – I’ve spent the last five years yelling at the TV screen for Sam and Dean Winchester to actually TALK to each other for once. *Rolls eyes*

  2. Ah, it’s a good thing you waited until the hype died down before reading this one because otherwise you might not have enjoyed it even more. Lack of communication is kind of a tired plot device I think… and I’m less happy when I see it lately too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s