#SpooksandTea: Ritual Tasks

Twitter Thread horror image logo

Spooks and Tea: Ritual Tasks
For anyone who isn’t aware I run a book club and for October we did a horror genre read-a-thon!

One of the chats we have is called Ritual Tasks which Coven leader Emmie created so members can choose to complete the rituals if they please.

The Rituals | Did I complete many?
– Pick a book that has something you are afraid of (ex: spiders, heights, ghosts, etc)
– Read a book at night (cause spoopy vibes man)
– Read a “paranormal” book (ex: vampires, werewolves, ghosts. etc)
– Recommend a book (cause we need to share more of that love)
– Write about your best Halloween experience
– Do a spooky book review
– Pick a horror novel without reading the synopsis (aka go into blindly)
– Buddy read a horror novel
– Read a book that is over 200 pages
– Re-read your favorite Halloween read

My results:
Read a book at night | ✔️
Pretty much everything I read was at night unless it was on the bus too and from work. So yeah I easily completed this.
Read a “paranormal” book |
None of my reads fit into this genre, I did have one picked out if I had time but alas I did not make it.
Recommend a book | ✔️
Yup, the book I recommended was Bedlam. It was a lot darker than I expected and before we started I also picked out Uzumaki for people to check out.
Do a spooky book review | ✔️❌
I kind of have done this. I reviewed There’s Someone Inside Your House on a twitter thread but I still need to copy it over onto the blog…
Pick a horror novel without reading the synopsis| ✔️
Yes! Though I haven’t finished it yet I picked up Tomie by Junji Ito with no synopsis. I bought this on release due to my love of Gyo and Uzumaki so I had no idea what it was about.
Read a book that is over 200 pages | ✔️
Theres Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins fits this which I’m glad it did because I found the book very average itself.
Re-read your favorite Halloween read | ✔️
Uzumaki by Junji Ito. I couldn’t resist re-reading this manga. Its perfectly messed up.

Well that is it. Those were the only ones I set out to finish and unfortunately one of them didn’t get checked off. I’m super glad I did manage the others though.

In a few days I’ll be posting my over all wrap up so check back then.

Did you reading any horror books last month? Is there any I should check out?
Leave a Reply

