Video Game: Life is Strange

Life is Strange by DONTNOD Entertainment
Genre: Story Rich | Choices Matter
Release Date: 30th January 2015
Episdoe 1 was gifted to me on Steam, then I bought the rest.

Synopsis:
Episode 1 now FREE!
Life is Strange is an award-winning and critically acclaimed episodic adventure game that allows the player to rewind time and affect the past, present and future.Follow the story of Max Caulfield, a photography senior who discovers she can rewind time while saving her best friend Chloe Price.
The pair soon find themselves investigating the mysterious disappearance of fellow student Rachel Amber, uncovering a dark side to life in Arcadia Bay. Meanwhile, Max must quickly learn that changing the past can sometimes lead to a devastating future.
Key Features:
A beautifully written modern adventure game.
Rewind time to change the course of events.
Multiple endings depending on the choices you make.
Striking, hand-painted visuals.
Distinct, licensed indie soundtrack.

It has been a long time since I completed Life is Strange and at the time I couldn’t put into words how much I enjoyed it so I’ll try now.

I remember receiving Episode 1 as a gift from a friend the days following the death of one of my dogs, he included a message how he hoped this game about loss might at least provide some comfort or distraction.

So from the get go I was already very emotionally involved.

I’m sure by now most people will know about Life is Strange but if you don’t I’ll give you a little run down.

LiS follows Max shortly before she finds out she has the ability to rewind time. She first does this to save a girl from being shot, this girl turns out to be her old best friend Chloe. But the more she uses her power the more messed up her life becomes.

But most importantly this story is about friendships.


Everyone focuses a lot on the queer aspect of Chloe and Max’s relationship but personally I didn’t go down this route as I felt like Chloe was rather controlling in a not so great kind of way. Their friendship was fine but I felt introducing the two romantically wasn’t something I was comfortable with.

The other person in the game who is very clearly infatuated with Max is Warren. He’s head over heels for her. He is someone that you could choose to romance with but he felt too full on for me and I was pretty certain if I were going to choose a romance in the game then it would be queer.

(Please note you don’t have to romance either of these characters)

I did however like the idea of Max and Kate – a religious girl who you have the chance to save from suicide if you listened carefully enough – being together. Their scenes felt so pure and right that I wished there was more of them. It wasn’t like a direct option in the game for these two to be together so I just made sure Max was as sweet as possible when with her and that kept my gay little heart happy.

Now onto other elements of the story I really enjoyed.

– The portrayal of the villain. The whole hidden in plain sight was a very interesting concept.
– The message is sends due to the fact you’re constantly rewinding time to get an outcome that you want, so how true is Max to herself? She’s constantly being someone else, making herself fake, to make people happy. A possibly portrayal of her struggling to accept herself.
– There is one character who has no redemption arc whatsoever which did bother me as they’re someone who is manipulated and abused but I had a great discussion about this with friends who had completed the game too so that was fun.
– I really liked the choice of endings too which forces the the player to make a really difficult choice.

I could really talk about this all day so I’ll stop here.

And I’m sure if you haven’t figured by now I really liked the art of this game. I found it very aesthetically pleasing and couldn’t resist getting some beautiful screenshot – which admittedly is difficult when it constantly moves. So this last section is just more images that I liked and wanted to share.

I highly recommend playing this game

The elf girl is my DnD character which my lovely friend Jenny drew.

6 thoughts on “Video Game: Life is Strange

  1. Deanna Reads Books says:

    I’m glad you liked this one! My boyfriend got this when the first episode was free for xbox gold subscribers and was obsessed. I actually would end up ignoring the game I was playing to watch him play! Haha. I definitely still want to play it myself, but haven’t gotten around to it.
    Deanna Reads Books

Leave a Reply

