Video Game Review: Whispering Willows

Whispering Willow by Night Light Interactive
Genre: Adventure | Indie
Release Date: 9th July 2014
Gifted to me on Steam

Synopsis:
Interact with the spirits of the dead, solve the puzzles of the mysterious mansion and help Elena find her missing father in the horror/adventure puzzle game: Whispering Willows.

I received this game as a gift during the Summer Sale – thank you friend!

Whispering Willows is a short game compared to others, could probably be completed in 3 hours or so but I was very thorough and paused to eat tea.

Its a good game, well executed, well designed – right down to its puzzles, lighting, sound, and two ways of movement through the game.

I really enjoyed the story that is told and would happily recommend it to others who enjoy this type of game.

I also got it listed in the “Games Featuring Dogs” curators for its Ghost Doggo because omgosh wasn’t he adorable.

Added to this it has some achievements that made me happy – checking on a stuffed Fox you get the achievement “what does the fox say?” and near the end if you check on a fireplace you get a Dark Souls (bonfire) achievement.

I think the only downside to this game was the art in the scenes that weren’t game-play – like the still images of art – weren’t as higher quality as the rest imo. BUT it wasn’t a huge distraction or let down, that’s just me nitpicking.

Anyway it was fun and worth my time, please straight forward to get 100% in.

For once I don’t think I need to expand on this as I only wrote it earlier this week and kept in mind I’d be posting it here too.

I recommend playing this game

The elf girl is my DnD character which my lovely friend Jenny drew.

Leave a Reply

