Video Game Review: Girls Like Robots

Girls Like Robots by Popcannibal

Genre: Puzzle | Indie
Release Date: 14th February 2014
Copy bought for myself via Humble Flash Bundle: So Cute

Synopsis:
Their faces are the playing pieces. The rules are their emotions!Ridiculously charming puzzles, wrapped around an epic tale of love and danger, topped off with an authentic old-time stringband soundtrack!The goal is to put every one next to their friends.But you can’t please everybody all the time.

Girls Like Robots is a puzzle based game, it starts off fairly easy but as more rules and characters get introduced it can become a little challenging. The design of the characters is a bit basic compared to the other games I play but its cute and definitely not ugly so ay that’s a bonus.(If you’re worried about getting stuck part way through there are plenty of helpful guides out there if needed.)

And well that’s pretty much all there is to this game. Follow the rules, place the character squares and complete each puzzle.

I’m not actually super fond of these type of puzzle games but I got it as part of a bundle so I figured I may as well try it out and seeing as though it appear fairly straight forward (with a little help from a guide here and there) and short. And you know, I’m also a bit of a completionist and wanted to add another completed game to my Steam profile.

So in short, if you’re like me an want to be a completionist then y’know definitely play this game, likewise if you like puzzle games its for you. Otherwise you can skip this game and not be missing out on much.

I have 100% on this game so it is able to be completed with all the achievements, though one is fairly annoying.

The annoying achievement is based on one of the side games (though using the term “side game” doesn’t really seem fair) you will probably play upon completing the main section of the game, I don’t know if it bugged out for me or if its like that for everyone but you just had to leave the game running, on screen, whilst a character falls and builds up your score. I ended up leaving it on overnight when I knew I would be having a lie in.

I kind of recommend playing this game

I didn’t take any of my own screenshots for this game so here are some others to give you an idea of how it looks.

Image from here.

Image from here.
The elf girl is my DnD character which my lovely friend Jenny drew.

Leave a Reply

