Book and Movie Review: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith
Published: March 2nd 2010
Publisher: Corsair
Page Count: 336
Synopsis: Abraham Lincoln was just a boy when he learned that his mother’s untimely death was actually the work of a vampire. From then on, he vowed to devote his intelligence, strength–and skill with an ax–to the elimination of the soulless creatures. It was a path of vengeance that would lead him all the way to the White House.No one ever knew about Lincoln’s valiant struggle against the undead… until author Seth Grahame-Smith laid eyes on Abe’s secret journal–the first living person to do so in over 140 years. Putting a supernatural spin on revisionist history, Seth has reconstructed Lincoln’s true life story–while revealing the role vampires played in the birth, growth and near-death of our nation.

Review: 

I‘m keeping this a fairly short review, or at least I intend too because to me the title itself is very self explanatory and well it does what it says on the cover! I picked this book up knowing very little about Abraham Lincoln so I think one of the worries I had for it was that I wouldn’t understand much if it referred to something he did and I would just be sat there holding the book like a clueless Brit. However, this book doesn’t drop in at the deep end, it is very much a biography of Abe’s life from start to end, and a little further, it grabs your attention in every way possible and I’m not a fan of biographies at all yet I managed to stick with this – maybe the promise of Vampires helped? – by the time the Vampires were brought in on a large scale you’re at the point of believe absolutely anything the author throws at you. Heck, if you ask me now to answer anything regarding Abe and his life as far as I’m concerned he did go about wielding an Axe to slay Vampires, he did have in-depth discussions with Poe about said Vampires and well Vampires are indeed real. Completely real. No doubt about it.

So when I was about half way through this book my Dad and I sat down to watch the movie too, I was a little iffy about this knowing I hadn’t yet read the book but surprisingly I enjoyed every moment. The moive presented itself slightly different to the book, focusing a lot more on the Vampire and slaying side of things and definitely made it a lot more action packed towards the end and when I picked up the book afterwards I started panicking that I wouldn’t be able to enjoy it as much (an incident like this happened with The Shining a few years back) but I was pleasantly surprised because the book kept to how it started out and didn’t go all flamboyant on the action at the end which I really liked because lets face it that last scene was a little unbelievable with his age, so for me the book was a lot better off though I wouldn’t dismiss the movie – it simply adapted to fit the target audience and it did it well.

All in all I highly recommend both, at times I got a little dragged down by the lack of Vampire action in the book but the movie makes up for it. Happy reading.

4 / 5 stars
GR

Seth Grahame-Smith: Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Website

4 thoughts on “Book and Movie Review: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

  1. naturally like your web-site however you have to test the spelling on several of your posts.

    Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very troublesome
    to inform the truth on the other hand I'll surely come back again.

    Feel free to surf to my website; Nike Air Jordan

  2. Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my web site so i got here to return the prefer?
    .I am trying to to find things to enhance my site!I
    assume its adequate to use a few of your ideas!!

    Also visit my web page – Nike Air Max

  3. It's in fact very difficult in this full of activity life to listen news on TV, therefore I simply use internet for that reason, and get the hottest information.

    Feel free to visit my web site :: New Kobe Shoes

Leave a Reply

