02112011: Uzumaki

Title: Uzumaki, Vol 1
Author: Junji Ito
Page Count: 202

Summary: Kurôzu-cho, a small fogbound town on the coast of Japan, is cursed. According to Shuichi Saito, the withdrawn boyfriend of teenager Kirie Goshima, their town is haunted not by a person or being but by a pattern: uzumaki, the spiral, the hypnotic secret shape of the world. It manifests itself in small ways: seashells, ferns, whirlpools in water, whirlwinds in air. And in large ways: the spiral marks on people’s bodies, the insane obsessions of Shuichi’s father, the voice from the cochlea in your inner ear. As the madness spreads, the inhabitants of Kurôzu-cho are pulled ever deeper, as if into a whirlpool from which there is no return…
My Review: I ordered this book second hand off amazon, the cover is different but not available on goodreads and my Dad currently has it so I’m not entirely sure how many pages my version has. Any how, once it arrived I picked it up and didn’t put it down again until I had completed it. This book is far from ordinary and certainly puts a spin on things (haha)! I can’t begin to describe how much I loved this book and how eager I am to get my hands on Volume 2. I’m aware this is only a short review but with this being a graphic novel/manga rather than a book it’s a lot shorter and I don’t really want to give anything away. Also, the art work is beautiful.
Rating: 4.5/5

2 thoughts on “02112011: Uzumaki

Leave a Reply

