30102011: In My Mailbox (1)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme hosted by The Story Siren
This week has been a slow week for books arriving and as most of the books I get will be ones I have ordered myself, or received as presents I can’t see their ever being more than one or two. On Tuesday I recieved Junji Ito’s Uzumaki Vol 1 (second hand) from Amazon, I read it straight away and couldn’t put it down (a review is to come later).

Uzumaki: Kurôzu-cho, a small fogbound town on the coast of Japan, is cursed. According to Shuichi Saito, the withdrawn boyfriend of teenager Kirie Goshima, their town is haunted not by a person or being but by a pattern:uzumaki, the spiral, the hypnotic secret shape of the world. It manifests itself in small ways: seashells, ferns, whirlpools in water, whirlwinds in air. And in large ways: the spiral marks on people’s bodies, the insane obsessions of Shuichi’s father, the voice from the cochlea in your inner ear. As the madness spreads, the inhabitants of Kurôzu-cho are pulled ever deeper, as if into a whirlpool from which there is no return…

Leave a Reply

